Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Newbie needs some advise, does this sound good? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/newbie-needs-some-advise-does-sound-111205/)

shireelf 08-19-2012 05:07 PM

Newbie needs some advise, does this sound good?

Ok, I am totally new to keeping a fish so I figured a would get the advise of fish keepers with some experience. I bought my daughter four goldfish about five months ago not knowing what I was getting into. We have enjoyed watching them swim around and grow, however the last month I had noticed that my tank was getting really dirty and I was changing my filter every week when I did my water change. After doing a little reading a found out that the 10 gallon tank that we have them in now is WAY to small for them. So either this week or next(depending on when my husband gets his bonus check) I plan to up grade the tank to a 55 gallon. I plan on keeping the four goldfish and the one plecostomus in that tank and not adding anymore fish. I plan to eventually start a tropical tank because I know that the plecostomus will eventually need more room, he is only about an inch long right now so I have some time.