Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   confused,tank cycle,help! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/confused-tank-cycle-help-109763/)

prodrumernate 08-05-2012 01:27 PM

confused,tank cycle,help!
 
3 Attachment(s)
cycling my 10 gallon,lightly planted freashwater aquarium.fish-in cycle using rosy red minnows(fathead minnows) yesterday all my readings came back 0..on bettafish site some one suggested i come here and ask my questions.

ammonia-0
nitrate-0
nitrite-0
ph-7.6

started cycling first week of july.took first readings on july 6th.everything dropped back down to 0 as of yesterday.ammonia was at 0 for about a week.nitrate got no higher than like 20 or 40...stayed a constant 10 for a week.dropped to 0 the past few days..

nitrite got up to 5.dropped on and off.was at .25 yesterday morning.last night it was at 0.today at 0..

some1 says i should still have nitrates even though i have plants.

i have 2 filters,HOB quiteflow 10.and a DIY moving bed filter....

subtrate-rock
live plants-red ludwigia
fake plants,everal hiding decor.

heated at 78 degrees but sometimes gets up to 82 becaue my A/C will go out at times(live in an apartment complex.have no control on fixing the A/C)

i also have some chemicals...
1.strontium chloride
2.blended calcium salts
3.sodium hydroxide

any ideas what these are for?

i am kinda curious why my nitrates are so low.i say 0.but its not exactly the yellow and not red.its more orange..between 0 and 5..

API master test kit

Byron 08-05-2012 03:37 PM

As long as ammonia and nitrite are zero, I would not worry about nitrates at zero. From your info, the nitrates were present earlier, so there doesn't seem to be a problem.

Live plants can result in zero nitrates, and ludwigia being a stem plant is a fast growing plant. This may be the reason. But I wouldn't worry.

Byron.

prodrumernate 08-05-2012 04:09 PM

thank you Byron..every1 over at the betta forum wasnt sure and said come here.ome said its most likely the plants sucking up the nitrates.and at 1 point i had plenty.then just disappeared yesterday.i can share that info with others and help them out :) someone suggested i wasnt testing correctly.

i use both bottles in the test kit and shake like crazy.for more than 10 seconds...tapping it on the counter inside a rag not to break the glass tube.but im surly glad i have nothing to worry about.and i didnt think every aquarium had to have traces of nitrates.maybe i finally cycled my tank correctly this time :)

again thank you..i really appreciate it

marshallsea 08-05-2012 10:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by prodrumernate (Post 1186048)
thank you Byron..every1 over at the betta forum wasnt sure and said come here.ome said its most likely the plants sucking up the nitrates.and at 1 point i had plenty.then just disappeared yesterday.i can share that info with others and help them out :) someone suggested i wasnt testing correctly.

i use both bottles in the test kit and shake like crazy.for more than 10 seconds...tapping it on the counter inside a rag not to break the glass tube.but im surly glad i have nothing to worry about.and i didnt think every aquarium had to have traces of nitrates.maybe i finally cycled my tank correctly this time :)

again thank you..i really appreciate it

Is this the API test kit? If so you need to shake the #2 nitrate bottle for at least 2 minutes.

prodrumernate 08-05-2012 10:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by marshallsea (Post 1186583)
Is this the API test kit? If so you need to shake the #2 nitrate bottle for at least 2 minutes.

yes its the API test kit..i hake it and bang it.my dad walked out 1 day and was looking at me weirdly seeing me stand there shaking crazily haha...i was also talking to other in another thread and we all talked about that also.though today i was a little lazy on the shaking.so didnt do as much as i normally did..

oh after its cycle how long do i wait to put my fish in?today make the second day with nitrates,nitrites and ammonia down.?

marshallsea 08-05-2012 11:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by prodrumernate (Post 1186593)
yes its the API test kit..i hake it and bang it.my dad walked out 1 day and was looking at me weirdly seeing me stand there shaking crazily haha...i was also talking to other in another thread and we all talked about that also.though today i was a little lazy on the shaking.so didnt do as much as i normally did..

oh after its cycle how long do i wait to put my fish in?today make the second day with nitrates,nitrites and ammonia down.?

By no means am I an expert, but with those numbers and plants I wouldnt be afraid to do it now. Test daily for a while and be prepared to do very frequent water changes. Your new tank can be unstable and have water problems faster than you think.Watch your fish closely and at the first sign of odd behavior change 50% water. IME one of the first signs of trouble is a fish glancing off objects. Stocking with too many or incompatible fish will cause never ending problems so ask experts on this forum if you are in doubt. P.S. what about your minnows, a 10g wont take many fish to be overstocked.

prodrumernate 08-06-2012 11:37 AM

i did my test again this morning.this time i decided to shake the #2 nitrate bottle a little longer like i use too and the tube a little longer also..got 5ppm on nitrate.ammonia and nitrite at 0 still :)day 3 still confirms it...i had nitrate readings before.just so low it didnt go up to 5 but wasnt at 0 either..once i shook the bottle like before i got the more proper readings..

marshallsea 08-06-2012 12:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by prodrumernate (Post 1187069)
i did my test again this morning.this time i decided to shake the #2 nitrate bottle a little longer like i use too and the tube a little longer also..got 5ppm on nitrate.ammonia and nitrite at 0 still :)day 3 still confirms it...i had nitrate readings before.just so low it didnt go up to 5 but wasnt at 0 either..once i shook the bottle like before i got the more proper readings..

You can go to Aqadvisor.com and play with their fish stocking calculator. While it doesnt take into account your plants, its a good guide to show how to not have an overstocked tank. It will also show some compatibility guidelines.

1077 08-06-2012 12:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by prodrumernate (Post 1186593)
yes its the API test kit..i hake it and bang it.my dad walked out 1 day and was looking at me weirdly seeing me stand there shaking crazily haha...i was also talking to other in another thread and we all talked about that also.though today i was a little lazy on the shaking.so didnt do as much as i normally did..

oh after its cycle how long do i wait to put my fish in?today make the second day with nitrates,nitrites and ammonia down.?

You mean besides the rosy red's?

prodrumernate 08-06-2012 12:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by marshallsea (Post 1187151)
You can go to Aqadvisor.com and play with their fish stocking calculator. While it doesnt take into account your plants, its a good guide to show how to not have an overstocked tank. It will also show some compatibility guidelines.

yes thats where i went.its how i know my tank is safe with what im stocking it with.i even suggested someone else use that because they werent sure what to add and how many.i can actually add 1 betta and 6 or 7 rosy reds,but im keeping it at 1 betta and 4 or 5 rosy reds. :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2