Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   distilled water to lower pH? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/distilled-water-lower-ph-109419/)

grannyfish 08-02-2012 12:41 PM

distilled water to lower pH?

Is it ok to use bottled distilled water mixed with tap water to lower pH? Is reverse osmosis water better or the same? I cannot find a source of RO but I can get distilled water anywhere. My 10 gallon aquarium water is 7.6, the GH is 6 and I would like to keep species that prefer lower pH and soft water.

If distilled is ok, what ratio to tap water should I use when making 20% water changes?

Any other advice?

AbbeysDad 08-02-2012 04:02 PM

First, I am no expert as I'm still learning about pH and hardness.
You would think that mixing RO, DI, RO/DI, distilled or rain water with tap or well water would lower pH... and it does initially. However, buffering will often bring pH back to previous levels. You'll need to use pH adjusters or materials like ground coral to maintain an acidic pH of your otherwise neutral/alkaline 7.6 water.

Olympia 08-02-2012 05:37 PM

Well, if your kH is low initially the RO/distilled will lower it more.. However if the kH remains high even after mixing then the pH will go back up again.
If you can figure out your kH, that would be helpful...
Crushed coral will raise hardness and kH, and therefore raise the pH (that's why it's used in African cichlid tanks).

equatics 08-03-2012 06:45 PM

It would be helpful if you could get a measurement of KH (Carbonate and Bicarbonate Hardness, "the buffer", especially of your tap water and the tank water as well. What I've read about pH adjusters is not to mess around with them. I think their buffer may give out unexpectedly.