Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   A noob with some questions (new tank, planted, fish questions) thanks! (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/noob-some-questions-new-tank-planted-109150/)

ensartain 07-31-2012 12:02 AM

A noob with some questions (new tank, planted, fish questions) thanks!

Some info on my setup..
Tank: 36gal
Filter: Marineland Penguin Filter 200B
Temp: 78-80 degrees
Stock: 4 guppy, 1 molly, 1 cory catfish
Tank age: almost 2 weeks old

So, I'm a super noob. I've never owned fish and lets just say I put the cart before the horse and didn't do as much research as I should have done. I didn't know there was a fishless cycle otherwise I would have done things that way. Needless to say I'm in love with the few fish I have and so far am not able to find a baby sitter with a cycled tank to watch them for me.

So far I've been doing around 25-50% water changes twice a day to keep my ammonia levels under .50. My fish seem pretty active and happy. I didn't find out until two days ago that my catfish wasn't a great idea to get until my tank was cycled but I'm hoping he makes it though.

So my questions... I have been reading that bright gravel can stress out your fish. Is there truth to that? If so how far would it set me back to change my gravel?

I would really like to have some plants added to my tank. I wish I would have read more about it before I started but I've made some mistakes and I'm pretty frustrated with myself for it.

So, if I do or do not change my gravel can I add plants?

If so, what plants should I start off with and how many for my size tank?