Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   OK, I need some supplies (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/ok-i-need-some-supplies-108500/)

CodyL1121 07-25-2012 12:34 AM

OK, I need some supplies

Hello!

Long time since I've posted here! Anyways, I'm going to be getting a 29 gallon tank soon. Something I want to do is grow Baby Dwarf Tears (for a carpet) and Dwarf Hairgrass in my tank. Once I get it grown to my liking I will add some fishies!

But, I came back to Tropicalfishkeeping.com because I need some help, and this site was always a great help to me. I am a HUGE newbie and I need to know:

- What type of lighting do I need?
- Can someone link me to an inexpensive C02 thingy that will work fine?
- What type of substrate shall I use?

Thanks for your help! :)

LyzzaRyzz 07-25-2012 01:16 AM

Sand is definitely recommended, though it takes a bit more work in the beginning, but less work later on.

Im not sure about what lighting your plants will need, because it depends on the size/dimensions of your tank.
I have a 45 gal, 24 inches tall, and i have a single t8 bulb, 6500k, and all i can really grow is surface plants. If i added a second bulb, i would be able to, but i dont have enough plugs! =]

From what ive read, CO2 isnt necessarily required, only in some situations, though hopefully someone more educated will come by and help you out!

CodyL1121 07-25-2012 01:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LyzzaRyzz (Post 1170421)
Sand is definitely recommended, though it takes a bit more work in the beginning, but less work later on.

Thank you! Any info I can gather will help me before I start setting things up!

kroum 07-25-2012 04:59 AM

Hey, how is it going!