Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Planted Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/)
-   -   New to plants, low light 20 gallon long- a few questions (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-planted-aquarium/new-plants-low-light-20-gallon-108185/)

starrlamia 07-22-2012 12:40 PM

New to plants, low light 20 gallon long- a few questions

Hello!

I jumped over from the betta forum, I am setting up a 20 gallon long sorority tank and plan to do some low light plants. I am thinking anubias, wisteria, java moss and java fern.

My question is, I am getting the tank with a mesh/screen lid, the kind used mostly for reptiles, is this lid ok for adding a light on top of it? I dont mind having to buy another lid but would prefer to just buy a light to put on top. Im trying to keep my costs down as much as possibe (Im a student lol).

Also, for these low light plants should I just be looking for something in the 6500k range or is there a more economical lighting set up that I could do that would keep my plants alive? Im not the best gardener so I want to start off right with this tank.

your help is appreciated :) I tried googling but didnt find much about the lid, and some lighting info is a bit advanced for my little brain.

BradSD 07-22-2012 06:17 PM

Hi, i'm not the expert here but I can help you some. First you should read the sticky on top of the aquarium plants threads on the low tech method. 6500k is ideal for plants with two T8 bulbs being ideal. I use two T5s which are a little bit to intense but you have the light to grow anything and I have to work at cutting it down with surface plants. Aquatraders.com have some pretty good deals on lights if you are on a budget. As far as I am concerned most tanks do not need a lid.

Quantum 07-22-2012 06:33 PM