Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   Filtration (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/filtration-108096/)

tommaso889 07-21-2012 02:36 PM

Filtration

Hello again, sorry for all the recent questions but as you can tell I am a beginner and I am trying to cut out any mistakes I could make before I make them!
So onto my question, in a filter there is obviously filter media but in a marine tank should I run the filter with or with out the media as I have been told that I could take the biological filtration media out of the filter and use live rock as the biological filtration?
After being given this information my thought was to take out the biological filtration and just leave something in there to take out the debris would this work?
Thank you for your help and patience with me:)

Tazman 07-21-2012 02:46 PM

Many people use HOB filters only for water movement and even this is not very good.

The HOB filters in marine overtime become Nitrate factories which are bad for your tank. If anything you can run carbon only in them.

Fully cured Live rock is your primary source of filtration in a marine tank, you dont have to use all live rock, dead rock with some live rock is all that is required. 1 1/2-2 LBS per gallon of live rock if you go all live rock. A few pieces if you are using dead rock as well.

tommaso889 07-21-2012 02:54 PM

The tank that I'm hoping to get comes with a HOB filter so i may aswell put it to good use:') would I be able to switch the filter media with live rock rubble? Would that work? Also how does live rock work as filtration:') thanks!

Reefing Madness 07-21-2012 02:58 PM