Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   How to soften water (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/how-soften-water-107833/)

grannyfish 07-19-2012 08:19 AM

How to soften water

I am still working on setting up and cycling my 10 gallon aquarium. I have planted it with Java ferns, cryptos and an anubia. I added several small nice pieces of Mopani wood and is not coloring the water much.

I have an API freshwater master kit and I am surprised my pH is reading at 7.6! I thought we had slightly acidic tap water. What other testing should I be doing other than what this kit covers??

I am considering adding some peat to the filter. Any other suggestions?

I would like to keep a pair of honey gouramis, a small school of celestial pearl danios and a group of pygmy corys OR salt and pepper corys.

Geomancer 07-19-2012 08:49 AM

The mopani is already leaching tannin so adding peat would not change anything.

Almost all municiple tap water is basic, having acidic water would corrode the infastructure. Basic water does not mean hard water, nor does acidic water mean soft water.

Water hardness is measured as General Hardness (GH) and Carbonate Hardness (KH). The KH is what buffers the pH, which means it is what resists the change to pH. The higher the KH, the harder it is for the PH to change. GH is what people mean when they say "soft" or "hard" water. To get this number, the best way is through your water utility. Either calling them, or looking up the water quality report online. Some put it on the water quality report, some don't.