Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   new planted freshwater 55g tank. my fish keep dieing (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/new-planted-freshwater-55g-tank-my-106341/)

swisha0928 07-05-2012 07:51 PM

new planted freshwater 55g tank. my fish keep dieing

i am new to planted tanks and i thought i was doing everything right. i cycled my tank with 6 tiger barbs and 6 white clouds for 2 weeks. i then added plants for freshwater, 15 neon tetras and 4 gold green cory. it has been about 5 days and i have lost atleast half of my fish. please tell me what i am doing wrong. i did 1 10% water change and i am using stress coat+ and stress zyme.

tank temp: 75-85
nitrite & nitrate: 0ppm
PH: 7.6
ammonia: .50ppm

lamberb2 07-05-2012 08:30 PM

Try keeping a solid temperature. like 78-79, your range is way to much. There may be other problems also, but your temp range just stuck out to me.

lamberb2 07-05-2012 08:31 PM

You also want absolutely no ammonia.

swisha0928 07-05-2012 08:33 PM

yes i know it is high. the tank is in my living room which gets atleast 80 degrees and its been keeping my tank temp high. even if i keep my hood open on the tank it only drops about 1-2 degrees

Tazman 07-05-2012 08:40 PM

2 weeks is not long enough to cycle a tank. It can take 6-8 weeks. The addition of that many fish is too much for the good bacteria to handle at the moment. They have not had chance to grow sufficiently to convert the ammonia to Nitrite and then to Nitrate. The live plants will be helping to some degree but the tank is still cycling after only 2 weeks.

Unless it was heavily seeded with material from a well established tank, it will still take some time to cycle completely.