Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/)
-   -   Help reading my water report (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-freshwater-aquarium/help-reading-my-water-report-106323/)

cubrian28 07-05-2012 06:24 PM

Help reading my water report

Hi, I'm new to the hobby and I am trying to do all my research before adding fish to my tank. I've been trying to determine my GH & KH, but my areas water report seems a little vague to me. I was hoping someone would be able to tell me if the report gives me anything I need. Here is the link:

http://water.cobbcountyga.gov/PDFile...12_Website.pdf

The information is located at the very bottom. The same website has an FAQ where they mention water hardness, this is the answer they give: "CCMWA water typically only has 21 mg of calcium carbonate per liter making it soft water". Not sure if I can go by this or not.

I live in Atlanta and we get most of our water from Lake Lanier and the Chattahoochee River. I have yet to test my tap water, but from what I can tell most of the tap water around here is around 7. Hopefully I can get these numbers down so I can start planning what is going to go in my tank.

marshallsea 07-05-2012 06:48 PM

You should probably just buy a liquid water test test kit at your local pet store to test your tap water. You will need it for your tank, anyway. Dont buy the cheaper test strips as they are very unreliable and hard to read.

equatics 07-06-2012 03:15 AM

Hi. The hardness you referred to is carbonate hardness and refers to how much pH buffer you have. Otherwise, the report doesn't have the information that you want.

I would look for a better report, maybe monthly or yearly. The addresses are in the lower right corner of the report.

I think Marshallsea's thought is also a good one.