Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Introduce Yourself (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/)
-   -   Hi, very new newbie x (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/introduce-yourself/hi-very-new-newbie-x-106067/)

sammyc 07-03-2012 09:04 AM

Hi, very new newbie x

Just wanted to say hi to you all. Im new to this and very new to keeping fish so will probably need lots of help and support. I will probably also ask stupid questions but how else will i learn :-) Please be nice to me hahaha. Its good to be here though x x
Posted via Mobile Device

Tazman 07-03-2012 06:04 PM

A question is never stupid :-)

Welcome to the forum :wave:

sammyc 07-03-2012 06:11 PM

:-D You obviously dont know me, i need a dummies guide haha. Thank you for welcoming me x
Posted via Mobile Device

Romad 07-03-2012 08:00 PM

Hello and welcome to the forum :wave:

We all started just where you are now. Like Tazman said, there are no silly question so ask away.

What size tank are you thinking of starting with? What type of fish?

Tazman 07-03-2012 09:34 PM

OK, tank size is a good place to start...what fish you intend on keeping.

What equipment have you for the tank, filter, airstones, etc?

You will need to purchase a test kit to allow you to test your water for certain things. Look into the API Master Freshwater as well as a test kit for General Hardness...avoid the test strips they give inaccurate results.

Before stocking the tank with fish, the tank will need to cycle..cycling is the process needed to create "good bacteria" to remove bad things from your water. This should ideally be done before the fish are added. You can read an article on it here.