Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Tropical Fish Diseases (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/)
-   -   Two White Dots on Adult Platy Tail, Platy Fry with Red/Bloated Tail and White Fuzz (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/tropical-fish-diseases/two-white-dots-adult-platy-tail-105525/)

BlueDreamer 06-28-2012 12:22 AM

Two White Dots on Adult Platy Tail, Platy Fry with Red/Bloated Tail and White Fuzz

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here, but I've been a lurker for a long time. You all seem very knowledgeable, and I was hoping that someone could help me identify what is wrong with my Platy and Platy fry. I don't expect the baby to make it, but I want to prevent his tank mates from suffering the same problems. I'm also wondering if his sickness is related to my adult Platy's sickness.

1. Size of tank? - 10 gallons

2. Water parameters - All of the following except for ammonia are from two weeks ago when I used the last of my strip kit. I have since done a 20% water change (about a week ago). I'll get another kit tomorrow and double check all of these.
a. Ammonia? - 0
b. Nitrite? - 0
c. Nitrate? - 20-ish
d. pH, KH and GH? - PH is somewhere between 7.2 and 7.8. I do not know what my KH and GH are.
e. Test kit? - API Ammonia Test Kit, Tetra Strip Kit for the rest.

3. Temperature? - 79 degrees mostly, though it can get hotter during the day when I'm not home to turn on my air conditioner.

4. FW (fresh water) or BW (brackish)? - Freshwater

5. How long the aquarium has been set up? - About six months

6. What fish do you have? How many are in your tank? How big are they? How long have you had them? - Three female Platys, two African Dwarf Frogs, one Ghost Shrimp, and four Platy fry (in a breeder net). One Platy fry is an an inch and the other three are under half an inch. I've had them all for about six months.