Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   Sand in the Freshwater Aquarium (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/sand-freshwater-aquarium-105070/)

fish monger 06-23-2012 11:53 AM

Sand in the Freshwater Aquarium

Have any of our members used Pavestone Playsand in their tanks ? Wondering how it stacks up to Quikrete insofar as cleaning/cloudiness is concerned. I want to try sand but, I don't want to set myself up for a giant chore.

marshallsea 06-23-2012 12:05 PM

I have no experience with sand but I've been researching it for my tank. I've read that Estes Marine Sand requires very little cleaning. As far as most others go, dont make any plans that day.

fish monger 06-23-2012 03:20 PM

LOL. Yes, that's how it sounds. Thanks for the feedback.

jaysee 06-23-2012 03:28 PM

I've used a dozen different sands and pool filter sand is hands down the best. It is soft, uniform (prevents packing), heavy enough to not get caught in the current, looks great and is CHEAP. a 50 lb bag should cost about $10.

marshallsea 06-23-2012 08:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jaysee (Post 1127225)
I've used a dozen different sands and pool filter sand is hands down the best. It is soft, uniform (prevents packing), heavy enough to not get caught in the current, looks great and is CHEAP. a 50 lb bag should cost about $10.

Im in for 50lbs for $10

KPainter 06-23-2012 08:48 PM

I got a 50 lb bag of playsand for $3.94 at Lowes. Can't beat that. And it only took me about an hour to wash what I needed. Granted, I'd probably spend a little more time than that now since my water did get a little cloudy, but it's clearing up nicely now.

Fishguy2727 06-23-2012 08:52 PM