Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Fish Breeding (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/fish-breeding/)
-   -   Help for a newbie, anyone? (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/fish-breeding/help-newbie-anyone-10469/)

lindseysimpson 01-01-2008 07:12 AM

Help for a newbie, anyone?

Hi everyone, I'm just starting out with my first tank, and I've got a few questions. Details about the tank are in my tank blurb...My first question: I don't have a specific interest in breeding bettas, but I do have a male and female betta (et. al) in my 10-gal. tank. I was just wondering if they would eventually breed, even if I don't do the styrofoam cup thing and the breeding net thing. (P.S. The bettas don't even seem to realize that each other exists...) Also, I'm wondering if my two girl platies could be pregnant...I don't see the "gravid spot", but there is an area above their anal fins that is reddish in color...also, inside this area, I see maybe 5-6 tiny black dots (fry eyes, possibly?) But again, neither seems anywhere near fat enough to be pregnant...should I keep hoping to see little ones? What do you think??? Oh, and one more thing...what do ya'll think about my tankmates?? The male platy and male betta have lived together in a 1-gal. bowl for a month or so, then I moved them to my new 10-gal tank (a Christmas gift) on Christmas Day.They're the best of pals...I added the two female platies and the female betta on Dec. 29. Amazingly enough, I've seen VERY little aggression. We're one happy fish family. Is this weird for these types of fish? Just wondering... Thanks! Any help is greatly appreciated!

herefishy 01-01-2008 08:41 AM

First of all, welcome to the forum. I hope you will enjoy our clan and participate. Learning, teachng, and having fun is what weare all about.