7K views 3 replies 3 participants last post by  thekoimaiden 
#1 ·
I'm redoing my 70g.
So far, I know I want
2 Shubunkin Goldfish
3 Feeder Goldfish
Snails (What breed do I get?)
Common Pleco

Are all these alright? I want snails, but I do not know which breed. Is 2 Shubunkins over crowding it?
Also, what plants can I add?

I have always had tropical fish so any tips are greatly appreciated!

#2 ·
Two shubunkins is pushing it but okay; however, the additional feeder goldfish are overstocking and overcrowding the tank. Five 12-inch fish in that tank would not make for happy anyone. The common pleco might be okay, but I have very little experience with their bioloads aside from knowing they are large. The one thing I will know you need is some major filtration. A canister rated for a tank double that size. I wouldn't do HOBs with goldfish in anything larger than a 55 gal.

As for snails, with goldfish you are going to have trouble keeping any alive. I've had the best success with Malaysian trumpet snails as they burrow, and with all the waste that goldfish make, they rarely come to the sides for food. Apple snails would be good as they are usually too large to fit in a goldfish's mouth and they require the same hard water that goldfish do. However, they aren't great algae eaters, and you will have to feed them separately which is going to be hard with goldfish around.