Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Beginner Saltwater Aquariums (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/)
-   -   75 gallon FOWLR filtration and set up. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/beginner-saltwater-aquariums/75-gallon-fowlr-filtration-set-up-101121/)

JimBinSC 05-10-2012 09:19 PM

75 gallon FOWLR filtration and set up.
 
OK, so after all my posts on here waffling between making my 75 or 29 gallon, I'm going with the 75 (today anyways) I hate the thought of parting with my clown loach in the 29 FW but it's too small for the fish and if I'm not making the 75 a planted FW like I originally planned the loach has to find another home.

On to my question: I was watching videos at bulkreefsupply.com on how to set up a saltwater tank. They said a protein skimmer and carbon reactor is all that's needed for a basic setup.
For a FOWLR can I use the brand new Eheim 2215 canister loaded with carbon as the reactor and add a skimmer? Probably add a HOB refugium too at some point.

I know sumps are great but how limited would the tank be without a sump? Am I limited to only the hardiest fish?
Thanks
jim

Reefing Madness 05-10-2012 09:48 PM

Your set up idea is sound. You don't need the filter for full time use though, you don't need to run carbon 24-7, matter of fact, its really not a good idea to do that either. All you need is 1.5lbs of Live Rock per gallon and a good skimmer and at least 10x the water turn over. you would not be limited to just hardy fish, just the ones that would fit in that tank.

JimBinSC 05-10-2012 10:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Reefing Madness (Post 1076891)
All you need is 1.5lbs of Live Rock per gallon and a good skimmer and at least 10x the water turn over. you would not be limited to just hardy fish, just the ones that would fit in that tank.

By that you mean 10x for circulation right? Not a 750 gph power filter since the live rock should be the filter? I guess I need more powerheads...I have a AQ20 at 127gph the eheim is 164gph.

BTW, nice pics. I was interested in the pics of your equipment setup. Did one company make all the aquarium stands at one time? I use to have a 4 ft stand exactly like that, and I still see them often.

Reefing Madness 05-10-2012 10:54 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimBinSC (Post 1076917)
By that you mean 10x for circulation right? Not a 750 gph power filter since the live rock should be the filter? I guess I need more powerheads...I have a AQ20 at 127gph the eheim is 164gph.

BTW, nice pics. I was interested in the pics of your equipment setup. Did one company make all the aquarium stands at one time? I use to have a 4 ft stand exactly like that, and I still see them often.

My stand and canopy are home made. DIY.
Right on the money about the flow in your tank. Filters are not counted as flow. Powerheads and or extrenal pumps make water movement. 75g tank would need a minimum of 750gph in powerheads. With that amount you may end up with dead spots, more flow will probably be needed, but you have a starting point.

JimBinSC 05-11-2012 08:19 PM

Dumb question: Does the protein skimmer count as water movement?
How about 2 Hydor Koralia Nano 425's? One on each end, maybe the AQ20 on the back, and the Eheim?
That's 425+425+164+127=1141gph max. I saw the post about 1200gph in a 50 being on the high side, I don't want to blow things around.

On another note: I went to my LFS to look around and their supplies cost twice what they are at Petsmart. I'm all for supporting small business and paying a little more considering that they probably forgot more about fish than the kids at petsmart know but DOUBLE the price? I don't think so. Maybe Roy's will price match! :-)

Reefing Madness 05-11-2012 10:06 PM

Skimmers do not count as flow. What you have figured out might just work for you in there. Watch for dead areas and point powerheadz where needed. As for local sores and being more, screw that. I get everything online, unless its cheaper in town. I get all my corals and fish local though, the shipping on those will kill you.

JimBinSC 05-12-2012 07:36 PM

ok, here's an even dumber question: Can I mix up the water in the tank and then add the sand and rock without the filter running? I know it will make a cloudy mess...just trying to find an easier way than dumping 75 gallons on top of the sand.

Reefing Madness 05-12-2012 07:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimBinSC (Post 1078848)
ok, here's an even dumber question: Can I mix up the water in the tank and then add the sand and rock without the filter running? I know it will make a cloudy mess...just trying to find an easier way than dumping 75 gallons on top of the sand.

Yea, you can do that. Put a plate on the bottom of the tank, and pour the water onto that. Or put a small pitcher on top of the plate, and fill the pitcher, you just overfill the pitcher, but at leats the water just goes over the top and into an area, not all over the place. These ways just kinda keep the water from splashing and making just a complete mess.

JimBinSC 05-17-2012 10:04 PM

Reefingmadness, i always appreciate your posts. I tested the tank on the back porch, no leaks. Right after I drained it, it started raining, at least it only put an inch or so of water back in. Got my Instant ocean and about 25 gallons of water mixed up, (forgot to to get the buckets from work to make more), 50 lbs of dry rock from Marco Rocks (good place). Circ pumps, test kit, and hydrometer should be here soon. No skimmer yet. Reading reviews to find a quiet one. Unfortunately the tank will be next to the TV so I need quietness.
My plan is to drag the tank back in, put in the sand, aquascape, and let it cycle.
To cycle the tank I need some live rock or live sand, but to I add ammonia like in a FW fishless cycle? Or do I add food? I read somewhere about adding a piece of shrimp.

Reefing Madness 05-17-2012 10:09 PM

No need for any of that junk for a cycle. Throw in the sand and any rock, and the bacteria will start to grow by itself. Adding Ammonia or a shrimp gets a larger bio load going at the start. That is why we advise people to add fish slowly, the bio load isn't big enough for a ton of fish at the same time, using Ammonia and or shrimp, you are adding a bigger load all at once, thus getting the Nitrites and Nitrates to grow at a larger pace. Not needed though.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2