Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Water Chemistry (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/water-chemistry/)
-   -   when to shake. (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/water-chemistry/when-shake-10099/)

Josh72836G 12-18-2007 04:01 AM

when to shake.
 
When adding two chemicals in a test do you have to shake them after each or can you do it after the last? For example...

If I use my API Ammonia test kit I add 8 drops of #1 and 8 drops of #2 then shake the vial.

but for my API Phosphate test kit I add 6 drops of #1, shake, add 6 drops of #2, then shake.

So my question is for my phosphate kit can I add both sets of drops and THEN shake?

p.s. - Sorry If this makes no sense. I'm sooooo tired!

SKAustin 12-18-2007 05:58 AM

Some of the api test kits are a bit testy. If the directions call for you to shake, I would shake. I know it's a pain, but with those tests, if you dont follow them to the letter, they can give false results.

Fast351 12-18-2007 06:44 AM

Follow the directions.

Ammonia you add both and shake.
With Nitrates (for example), you have to shake the chemical before adding, then shake after adding. It's the most obnoxious one because it involves about 2 minutes of shaking.

verbosity 12-18-2007 09:13 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fast351
Follow the directions.

Ammonia you add both and shake.
With Nitrates (for example), you have to shake the chemical before adding, then shake after adding. It's the most obnoxious one because it involves about 2 minutes of shaking.

When ever my wife test the water for me she always get something way off for the Nitrates.. I always have to redo it :)

Josh72836G 12-18-2007 11:25 AM

Ok, thanks everyone. Good to know. Of a similar nature, In your experience are the results different if you wait longer than they tell you too? I've been meaning to test it out but haven't had the time. :P

verbosity 12-18-2007 01:17 PM

On some of the stuff yes. As long as you don't wait more than 10 minutes I find the results to still be pretty much the same as if I did it instantly. That is with the API test kit.

The pH and high pH are instant.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2