Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Freshwater Aquarium Equipment (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/)
-   -   equipment recommendations (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/freshwater-aquarium-equipment/equipment-recommendations-100535/)

kn1985 05-04-2012 04:32 PM

equipment recommendations

im a newbie here but im looking to start a 29 gallon/30gallon community tank with tropical fish. the fish i have in mind are: bosemani rainbow, platy, zebra danio, and albino bristlenose.

im wanting to buy a tank, hood, and a stand in a package deal if possible and then buy the filter/heater and all separate so i can have good quality items. ive tried looking at some tanks like seaclear 30 gallon 3 eclipse and topfin 29 gallon tank w/hood. however i heard you can only use seaclear filters/heaters with their tank and they werent that great (?) and the topfin hood was flimsy (?).

id appreciate any recommendations for good quality and efficient equipment.

tank w/hood?
stand?
filter?
heater?
thermometer?
lighting?
gravel vacuum cleaner?

any thing else i have missed would be appreciated....thanks!!

Stormfish 05-04-2012 05:06 PM

I've heard the Top Fin products (PetsMart's own brand, btw) are crappy too. I have a 3.5 Top Fin tank for my betta and it scratches easily.

Have a look at the sales at your local aquarium supply, and also decide by your budget. On the higher end, Fluval makes some gorgeous tank/hood combos, but some of them are pricey. Marineland kits are more economical, and better constructed than Top Fin.

I will recommend staying away from Tetra Whisper HOB filters as the media is an all-in-one unit, so you can't swap out the carbon and leave the pad. I don't know what they were thinking with that design! I regret buying mine.

zof 05-04-2012 06:22 PM