Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/)
-   Cichlids (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/)
-   -   thinking of getting mbuna (http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/cichlids/thinking-getting-mbuna-100194/)

fphipps 05-01-2012 05:47 AM

thinking of getting mbuna

I have about 5 years freshwater planted tank experience. i have tried to do a saltwater reef tank 3 different times in 3 different size tanks and failed every time mostly because i am broke -____-
so i now have a 75 gallon with 50lbs of rock, a 30 gallon sump and some nice lighting. i am looking to do african cichlids in this tank. i researched them about 6 months ago before i decided on trying to build a reef. from what i understand i have to over crowd the tank at first then they will pick each other off? am i just assuming the wrong thing with that statement? i was interested in what i saw on liveaquaria as Mbuna(?) as i saw they are "assorted" and i would like a couple different colors in my tank. how many fish do you think i could fit in my 75 gallon? what types of africans would you recommend?

and i am sorry if my post is rediculous, but that is why i am asking and researching.
thanks for understanding my ignorance :)

Tazman 05-01-2012 07:14 AM

Welcome to TFK :-)

Dont ever be sorry about asking a question on here that you are not sure about, same goes for real life, no point jumping in when simple research and patience is the key to a successful tank.

With regards to what you saw on Aquabid labelled as "assorted" generally alarm bell time...assorted tends to be hybrids which people are trying to get rid of, this is not always the case but I would stay away from them.

Mbuna means "rock dweller" in Malawi, and are from Lake Malawi Africa. With the tank you have a prefect size to do a nice setup, sump is a very big bonus.