Opinions Pleaaaase :D - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 03-09-2009, 04:38 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Talking Opinions Pleaaaase :D

Hey, Im thinking about buying a huuuuge new tank.
Its going to be roughly 9foot long and four foot high, and with the stand it will be about 6foot high.
im going to get it sort of sunk into the wall, obviously with room between the top of the tank and the wall for water changes, feeding ect.
Just wanted to know if you all thought this was a bit too far..?
ScottishGirrl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 03-09-2009, 04:51 PM
Gold Member
 
aunt kymmie's Avatar
 
Something that size would have to be custom made, yes?

If you don't stand up for something you'll fall for anything...
aunt kymmie is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 03-09-2009, 04:55 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
yes it is, it would be custom built by the people who sell you the glass.
ScottishGirrl is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 03-09-2009, 05:12 PM
New Member
 
B Castle's Avatar
 
I almost did a built-in when I built my house.... since I actually BUILT it, I could pretty much do whatever I wanted. Now I regret not doing it.
B Castle is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 03-09-2009, 08:41 PM
Member
 
JohnnyD44's Avatar
 
sounds like quite a project!!! if you start it, we'd love to see some pictures...it'd make a great blog!!
JohnnyD44 is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 03-13-2009, 11:44 AM
Sounds awesome! Time consuming tho. What would be ur stcking plans? Plants? Fish? Substrate?

~veganchick~

All things bright an beautiful,
All creatures great and small,
All things wise and wonderful,
The Lord, God made them all.



*Vegans Have more Fun*

http://www.petshopanimals.webs.com
veganchick is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 03-13-2009, 11:44 AM
also, how many gallons is that? like a billion? lol jk

~veganchick~

All things bright an beautiful,
All creatures great and small,
All things wise and wonderful,
The Lord, God made them all.



*Vegans Have more Fun*

http://www.petshopanimals.webs.com
veganchick is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 03-13-2009, 09:43 PM
Member
 
tophat665's Avatar
 
I think that's a great idea, but before you do it, let me ask how you plan to clean the bottom of the tank? I'm 6'2, and I have a 110 Extra high that, if I am standing on a stool to get my armpit level with the top of the tank I can just barely touch the bottom. And I always soak my sleeves doing it. That's 31" tall. What are you going to do with a 48" tall tank? Swim? A 9x3x2 to 2 1/2' tank should be plenty for most fish, unless you had something specic in mind for which you need a 4' tall tank.

Also, bear in mind that, if you are going to plant a 48" deep tank, you will need MASSIVE amounts of light, as the intensity will be down to around a third or so by the time it gets to the bottom of the tank.

Now, another thing to keep in mind, that's going to be about 550 gallons if it's only 2' front to back. So almost 3 tons. Make sure your floor can handle it.

Logic is only the beginning of wisdom
tophat665 is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 03-14-2009, 08:35 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Thanks tophat, i have thought about all this for a long time, my uncle is a architect and my grandad is a builder, they have carried out all sorts of tests to ensure the building is stable for putting that much weight on.
The lighting would also be specially designed by my uncle, im not the most upto date on the technology lingo that he used but i'll try my best to describe how theyd work!!
They would look like the normal tank lights you could buy anywhere for a regular fish tank, but they have a special mirror effect that also has pearl protein within it so the light would be reflected all the way to the bottom.
i hope that made sense to you guys, because thats the best i could translate his techo talk into normal talk !!
Im lucky to have family members in almost all sectors of the trade industry so the tank stand would be built on special hydrolic(? excuse the spelling) platforms which can be height adjusted for the cleaning ect.
As for stocking ect, i havent thought about that in great depth yet, just going to take it one step at a time, so building this thing first!!:D
ScottishGirrl is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 03-14-2009, 09:37 AM
New Member
 
stevef10's Avatar
 
Wow, that does seem pretty high tech, but it also sounds freaking awesome!!

125 gallon tank:
2 Tiger oscars, 1 Electric blue jack dempsey, 1 Jack dempsey, 2 Bala sharks, 1 Firemouth, 1 Salvini, 1 Texas cichlid, 1 Pleco; All juveniles

29 gallon (in the works):
1 Blue ram, 1 Cockatoo cichlid, 1 Powder blue dwarf gourami, 1 Bolivian Ram, 8 Neon tetras, 4 Corydoras, 2 Bamboo shrimp, some ghost shrimp
stevef10 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for opinions! Mikeyboi86 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 12 03-01-2010 10:53 AM
Opinions please JerseyBird97 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 8 10-19-2009 08:54 AM
opinions please porksnorkel DIY Aquarium 33 06-01-2008 09:08 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome