29G opinions.... - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-20-2008, 10:00 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Dtld9's Avatar
 
29G opinions....

I have a 29g set up and as of now I have 5 panda cories. I want to put a dwarf gourami maybe 2 in at a later date and some ottos. What else would do good in here, with the gouramis and cories? It is going to be a mid-heavily planted tank.
Dtld9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-21-2008, 12:29 AM
Member
 
Lupin's Avatar
 
Re: 29G opinions....

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtld9
I have a 29g set up and as of now I have 5 panda cories. I want to put a dwarf gourami maybe 2 in at a later date and some ottos. What else would do good in here, with the gouramis and cories? It is going to be a mid-heavily planted tank.
You can't have three males in one tank. All dwarf gouramis are males and are not as hardy as they used to be either. You need to think carefully before you buy these fish. If I were you, resort to sparkling gouramis or honey gouramis. Rasboras and otos will suit your tank fine if you have enough algae supply for the latter.

Sent from my desktop or phone or whatever else I am holding on to

http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=48&dateline=125741997  2
I'm ready for the pressure.
The drama and the pleasure!
If there is one thing I want to see here, it's HUMOR.
I believe I can fly!
I believe I can touch the sky!
I think about it every night and day!
I stand in awe of my body.
Lupin is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-21-2008, 07:02 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Dtld9's Avatar
 
Well when I said 1 or 2, I meant if I can find a female, sorry I didn't say that I have a bad habit of only writing half of what I'm thinking. My sister works at a fish store so I can usually get what I ask her to order so I may be able to get the female. Would a male and female be alright together?
Dtld9 is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 04-21-2008, 07:05 AM
Member
 
Lupin's Avatar
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dtld9
Well when I said 1 or 2, I meant if I can find a female, sorry I didn't say that I have a bad habit of only writing half of what I'm thinking. My sister works at a fish store so I can usually get what I ask her to order so I may be able to get the female. Would a male and female be alright together?
I doubt the chance of obtaining the female. If the source is from Asia, then there is no chance getting a female gourami at all. Both will work fine but the chances of finding a female is very slim.

Sent from my desktop or phone or whatever else I am holding on to

http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=48&dateline=125741997  2
I'm ready for the pressure.
The drama and the pleasure!
If there is one thing I want to see here, it's HUMOR.
I believe I can fly!
I believe I can touch the sky!
I think about it every night and day!
I stand in awe of my body.
Lupin is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-21-2008, 11:48 AM
New Member
 
Torn's Avatar
 
I was warned that I would have a hard time finding a female Dwarf Gourami but I went to my lfs at the weekend and they sell them in pairs. I live in the UK so maybe it's more common over here, I don't know. When my tank has cycled I plan on getting a pair of Gouramis and some Corys like you, also a school of Cardinal Tetras and a Bristlenose Catfish.
Torn is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-25-2008, 06:10 PM
New Member
 
Jpet's Avatar
 
In my 29 gallon I have a Dwarf Gourami, 14 Harlequin Rasboras, 4 pepperd corys and a mystery snail. At one time I had 2 Dwarf Gouramis, be warned one WILL become dominant and the other will rarely come out of hiding.

Baby, the other other white meat
My Spiders
Jpet is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-26-2008, 12:29 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Dtld9's Avatar
 
I already know that I can't have more than 1 happy male gourami that's why I mentioned trying to get a female.
Dtld9 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for opinions! Mikeyboi86 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 12 03-01-2010 11:53 AM
Opinions please JerseyBird97 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 8 10-19-2009 09:54 AM
opinions please porksnorkel DIY Aquarium 33 06-01-2008 10:08 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome