Aquascape help ~ Come give your opinions~ - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 10-08-2012, 10:02 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
AK Fresh Water's Avatar
 
Aquascape help ~ Come give your opinions~

Hey everyone. Here is my first planted tank:




It's alright looking, but I want a WOW tank. Any suggestions for how I could change the layout to be more appealing?


AK Fresh Water is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 10-09-2012, 12:45 AM
New Member
 
Granberry's Avatar
 
I am no more qualified than you to judge at all, but I think it looks really good. I like the way the rocks and sand coordinate, and I like the little grasses by the big sword. Personally, I like my tanks to have more plants, but my tanks lack the clean, refined look yours has...more of a Cobb salad appearance. :) Your betta adds a nice splash of red color in there too.
Granberry is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 10-09-2012, 03:16 PM
That looks like Wisteria that you have floating. If I were you I'd remove it. After a while it's going to grow out at odd angles, ensnare some of your plants and over all be a butt.
Sanguinefox is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 10-09-2012, 03:43 PM
Member
 
To be honest, it wont be "wow" until there is more density of plants in there. Once you have a decent amount then you can think about aquascaping. don't start too fast!

good luck!
laoshun is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to laoshun For This Useful Post:
AK Fresh Water (10-10-2012)
post #5 of 7 Old 10-09-2012, 03:56 PM
Member
 
Boredomb's Avatar
 
I agree let things fill out before moving to fast. I think its a good start! Btw if that's a Amazon Sword its going to get huge!!!! It will out grow that tank soon.

Boredomb is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 10-09-2012, 08:11 PM
Member
 
jeaninel's Avatar
 
Aquarium
I think you need a centerpiece item such as a nice piece of driftwood and arrange your plants around it. I would also move the rocks you have to maybe more of a grouping around one on the plants.

I really like the color of your sand and the rocks go nicely with it.
Posted via Mobile Device
jeaninel is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to jeaninel For This Useful Post:
AK Fresh Water (10-10-2012)
post #7 of 7 Old 10-09-2012, 09:46 PM
Member
 
Chesh's Avatar
 
I agree with the other posters - you're off to a great start, now it's time to see what happens. How long have these plants been in there? Are they all new? If they are, give them a month or so to settle in and adjust to things - you'll have a better idea how they'll grow for you, and what they're going to DO as time passes. It's always best to make new additions little by little, as you figure out what works best in your tank, and get a better idea of how each plant grows. Great start! Can't wait to see how it grows from here :D
Chesh is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Chesh For This Useful Post:
AK Fresh Water (10-10-2012)
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you think of this aquascape? doki Freshwater Journals 21 10-01-2012 07:45 PM
Opinions and Ideas for Aquascape Inga Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 28 08-31-2010 07:38 PM
Please give me your opinions or suggestions for these tanks. thebigblueram Freshwater and Tropical Fish 7 06-30-2008 10:54 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome