does anyone have this or have an opinion about it? - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 02-03-2010, 02:50 PM Thread Starter
Question does anyone have this or have an opinion about it?

Fluorescent Aquarium Lighting: All-Glass Twin-Tube Black Strip Lights

I need a longer light fixture for my aquarium...my current one only covers a third of my tank length.

thanks!

Stephanie's updated tank profiles:
29 gallon 10 gallon
stephanieleah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 02-03-2010, 03:09 PM
Member
 
WisFish's Avatar
 
I use the 4' tripple tube version. It's a good fixture. Never had any problems and they can be used with a timer. I think it's a good choice.
WisFish is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-03-2010, 03:25 PM Thread Starter
Do you just set it on top of a glass cover? Do you have clips or feet or something on it so it is raised?

Thanks for your inpu, btw.

Stephanie's updated tank profiles:
29 gallon 10 gallon
stephanieleah is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 02-03-2010, 03:31 PM
Member
 
WisFish's Avatar
 
Yes. It says you have to have a glass cover under it. It sits right on the glass or sides of the tank. It's not elevated. That's actually nice because then you don't get any light in your face when you're viewing the tank.
WisFish is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-03-2010, 03:41 PM Thread Starter
My current one sits on the tank but the problem is I can't open the tank without moving the light (not even to feed them) and when I move the light, it scares my pleco (even though it means food is coming...he's so skittish). But I'm okay just letting it sit on the sides, too. Thanks for the input...I'll probably just order it now then.

p.s. by the way, I just had to look at your tank photos again and I noticed you don't have a list of inhabitants...that's okay but I really like your set up. Just curious about which fish are in there b/c you have tetras and danios like me and I wondered when I move them to a larger tank, which other fish will be compatible.

Stephanie's updated tank profiles:
29 gallon 10 gallon
stephanieleah is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-03-2010, 07:24 PM
Member
 
WisFish's Avatar
 
Are you getting the light for the 55 or the 29? I think in both cases, all glass makes a special sized glass top to match the wider fixture.

Aquarium Hoods & Canopies: All-Glass Twin-Tube Versa-Tops

I'll see if I can add my inhabitants.
WisFish is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-03-2010, 10:06 PM Thread Starter
the 29...I have the glass top already so I just need the light fixture. If I like it maybe i'll get this model for my next tank!

Stephanie's updated tank profiles:
29 gallon 10 gallon
stephanieleah is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would like an opinion from anyone and everyone. Kelso Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 11 12-27-2009 09:02 AM
opinion plz southamericancichlidguy23 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 4 11-14-2009 10:39 PM
Your opinion? el Mattador Freshwater Journals 3 02-01-2009 06:44 PM
Need your opinion! andulrich4all Saltwater Fish 9 11-22-2008 12:19 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome