Opinions wanted... - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-12-2009, 11:05 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
JerseyBird97's Avatar
 
Opinions wanted...

I have a 75 gal tank thats about 48'' long. Right now there's a 7-8'' sailfin plecko a 3'' red oscar and a 3'' albino red oscar. I'm researching adding a fire eel... I'm coming up 50/50. Ya think it could work?
JerseyBird97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-12-2009, 11:36 PM
Gold Member
 
aunt kymmie's Avatar
 
What type of substrate and what type of (if any) rock, cave and hidey-hole formations?? Eels will totally bury themselves when threatened so you need to make sure he's able to do this, should the oscars decide to go after him. Some solid rock formations will also allow for this.

If you don't stand up for something you'll fall for anything...
aunt kymmie is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-12-2009, 11:40 PM
Member
 
um I thought it was recommended that two oscars live in a minimum 75 gal. So would you be overstocking?

Trevor
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Rohland is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-12-2009, 11:47 PM
Gold Member
 
aunt kymmie's Avatar
 
Good catch Rohland! I'm a firm believer in weekly water changes (40%) and by doing so you can push stock limits somewhat as long as water params stay well within *perfect*. Of course, there's always the option of a tank upgrade once the fish start pushing full adult size. JMHO.

If you don't stand up for something you'll fall for anything...
aunt kymmie is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-13-2009, 12:39 AM
Member
 
imho...if your not planning on getting atleast a 125g or larger tank with in the next 6 months, your tank is over stocked. plecos and oscars are big poop machines-having large bio loads. your pleco will get to 12 inch and the oscars will be 12 inch plus and the fire eel (if you choose to get it) can get to 2 feet. the reason i 6 months is that your oscars will be about 10 inch within that time.
buzz4520 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-13-2009, 06:46 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
JerseyBird97's Avatar
 
Thanks for the input... I've decided to against the eel until I get a tank to keep at home.
JerseyBird97 is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-14-2009, 10:25 AM
Member
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by aunt kymmie View Post
Good catch Rohland! I'm a firm believer in weekly water changes (40%) and by doing so you can push stock limits somewhat as long as water params stay well within *perfect*. Of course, there's always the option of a tank upgrade once the fish start pushing full adult size. JMHO.
I know, I push the stock limits too. However I'm always doing water changes, and they are fish that don't have a huge bio-load like oscars.

Trevor
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Rohland is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need some opinions...i know you got them anthony1238 Freshwater and Tropical Fish 19 08-08-2008 02:25 PM
29G opinions.... Dtld9 Freshwater and Tropical Fish 6 04-25-2008 11:29 PM
opinions eglavasa240 Saltwater Fish 3 02-24-2008 06:13 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome