Your opinion: should I add these to my tank.... - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-24-2007, 10:22 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
jsm11482's Avatar
 
Your opinion: should I add these to my tank....

Hi, in my 90gal I currently have:

6x Discus
1x Clown Pleco
1x Rubber Pleco
2x Spotted Raphael Catfish
12x Amano Shrimp

I am thinking of adding a group of Corydoras leucomelas. http://www.planetcatfish.com/catelog...species_id=485. I chose them because they can handle the higher temp. in my tank (85f). I was planning on 6. What do you think? How much room do you think I have?

PS: The tank is also planted, I assume they will not eat the plants?

Thanks,
Josh

90gal: 2x Tangerine Discus, 2x Clown Pleco, 2x Catfish.
75gal + 10gal sump: 2x Large Goldfish, 1x Common Pleco, 14x Leopard Danios
55gal: 5x Angelfish, 1x Common Pleco, 8x SIlver Tip Tetras, 16x Neon Tetras, 8x Albino Corys
jsm11482 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-24-2007, 11:40 AM
Member
 
beetlebz's Avatar
 
well, theyre small, their bioload isnt huge, my spend 99.9% of the daytime hours on the substrate (otoh im not sure which corys i have, and i know it can be a big difference) and they dont bother any of the other fish.

I cant see why it would be a problem, but then again i have the knowledge base of a post-it. :)

Dedicated, converted, lowes / home depot bulb buyer!
beetlebz is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-24-2007, 08:45 PM
Member
 
Lupin's Avatar
 
Cories don't eat plants however they do uproot plants that have not yet established themselves on the substrate yet.

You can get 10 instead of 6.

Sent from my desktop or phone or whatever else I am holding on to

http://www.tropicalfishkeeping.com/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=48&dateline=125741997  2
I'm ready for the pressure.
The drama and the pleasure!
If there is one thing I want to see here, it's HUMOR.
I believe I can fly!
I believe I can touch the sky!
I think about it every night and day!
I stand in awe of my body.
Lupin is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-27-2007, 05:43 PM
Member
 
Andyandsue's Avatar
 
You have lots of room, especially since corys are bottom dwellers. They will stay out of the way, and your bioload is fine! I'm jealous! :) Go for 6 or more and you will see them hanging out and buzzing around together. You could even do 6 of 1 species and 6 of another for fun, but don't expect them to all shoal together.

Overnight, my nocturnal crazies uproot my plants all the time, and even move the artificial ones around so they too look "uprooted". No plant eating though.

Susan

Pardon the pun, but I'm hooked!
Andyandsue is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-27-2007, 05:43 PM
Member
 
Andyandsue's Avatar
 
You have lots of room, especially since corys are bottom dwellers. They will stay out of the way, and your bioload is fine! I'm jealous! :) Go for 6 or more and you will see them hanging out and buzzing around together. You could even do 6 of 1 species and 6 of another for fun, but don't expect them to all shoal together.

Overnight, my nocturnal crazies uproot my plants all the time, and even move the artificial ones around so they too look "uprooted". No plant eating though.

Susan

Pardon the pun, but I'm hooked!
Andyandsue is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-27-2007, 08:25 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
jsm11482's Avatar
 
Thanks for the comment, I'm trying to get these from my LFS now....

90gal: 2x Tangerine Discus, 2x Clown Pleco, 2x Catfish.
75gal + 10gal sump: 2x Large Goldfish, 1x Common Pleco, 14x Leopard Danios
55gal: 5x Angelfish, 1x Common Pleco, 8x SIlver Tip Tetras, 16x Neon Tetras, 8x Albino Corys
jsm11482 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does anyone have this or have an opinion about it? stephanieleah Freshwater Aquarium Equipment 6 02-03-2010 11:06 PM
Would like an opinion from anyone and everyone. Kelso Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 11 12-27-2009 10:02 AM
making tank soon opinion for the fish i have southamericancichlidguy23 Freshwater and Tropical Fish 25 10-29-2009 02:24 AM
Need your opinion! andulrich4all Saltwater Fish 9 11-22-2008 01:19 AM
Opinion on a Guppy Tank and a Betta Tank Andyandsue Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 8 03-03-2007 12:45 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome