My opinion on bamboo in the aquarium - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-13-2009, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Post My opinion on bamboo in the aquarium

I have sifted through alot of posts lately concerning whether or not bamboo can grow in an aquarium. From what I've seen, everyone believes that the answer is no. However, I just wanted to let everyone know that I have had fully-submerged small shoots of bamboo growing in my small aquarium for a year now. Every now and then a leaf or two will fall off and die, but the stalk seems to be able to thrive quite well in my tank. I've even had a few shoots grow new leaves. If you are wondering about this plant and you like the look of it in your aquarium, it's worth picking up a couple peices for 50 cents and seeing how they do. This plant will not die or rot quickly, but in some cases the stalk will begin to look a bit yellow, whereas you should remove it from your aquarium. None of my fish have ever died because of this plant. The leaves are tough enough that most small fish cannot eat them. Let me know if you have had different experiences with fully-submerged bamboo. I think that in this case, one person said once that it will quickly die and rot even though they had never tried it and the belief spread quickly.
fulmeralex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-13-2009, 05:46 PM
Member
 
Angel079's Avatar
 
I had bamboo in my open tank and it was half in the water, half out and it developed new shoots on the bottom (in the water) as well and it didn't rot away neither....myth only maybe I donno!?

~ Life Is Too Short, Break The Rules, Forgive Quickly, Kiss Slowly, Love Truly, Laugh Uncontrollably And Never Regret Anything that Made You Smile.
Life May Not Be The Party We Hoped For, But While We're Here, We Should Dance. ~
Angel079 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-13-2009, 06:07 PM
Member
 
Hawkian's Avatar
 
OK so I had been wondering about bamboo myself. Hiscock says that bamboo is supposedly native to the Tiger Barbs area of origin but his layout shows dead bamboo anchored to the bottom of the tank.

I'd be interested to know if anyone else has successfully placed bamboo in their tanks... fully submerged?
Hawkian is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-13-2009, 08:28 PM
Member
 
Angel079's Avatar
 
Dead bamboo you mean like the sticks used for gardening...should work WONDERS if you're looking for something rotten in the tank....

~ Life Is Too Short, Break The Rules, Forgive Quickly, Kiss Slowly, Love Truly, Laugh Uncontrollably And Never Regret Anything that Made You Smile.
Life May Not Be The Party We Hoped For, But While We're Here, We Should Dance. ~
Angel079 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-14-2009, 03:52 AM
New Member
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
lucky bamboo which really isnt bamboo will not grow fully submerged. the leafs need to be out of the water at least. some people coat the bottom just to make sure it doesnt rot.

COAST SoCali Fish Club
SCAPE SoCali Plant Club
Bobs Tropical Plants
mgamer20o0 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does anyone have this or have an opinion about it? stephanieleah Freshwater Aquarium Equipment 6 02-03-2010 11:06 PM
Would like an opinion from anyone and everyone. Kelso Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 11 12-27-2009 10:02 AM
Your opinion? el Mattador Freshwater Journals 3 02-01-2009 07:44 PM
Need your opinion! andulrich4all Saltwater Fish 9 11-22-2008 01:19 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome