Looking for FAQ on T5 reflectors (or reviews) - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-05-2009, 10:01 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Looking for FAQ on T5 reflectors (or reviews)

I am wondering if different reflectors could help maximize my light from my 28 watt T5 bulbs. I have two double bulb coralife fixtures. Can anyone point me to a faq or some reviews on reflectors? I have not yet found anything. It does sound like ice caps are a solid brand. Is retrofitting where you fit a new reflector into the fixture. I am not really sure how this all works. Thanks.
saulat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-06-2009, 11:26 AM
Member
 
Byron's Avatar
 
Here's a link to the DrsFoster&Smith site, they have good information on products and (I think reviews).
Fish Supplies: Fish Tank & Fish Care | DrsFosterSmith.com
In the left column click Lighting and go from there.

T5 HO light is quite bright and I would have thought the Coralife fixture was adequate for plants (and fish which prefer less light to more light).

Byron.

Byron Hosking, BMus, MA
Vancouver, BC, Canada

The aquarist is one who must learn the ways of the biologist, the chemist, and the veterinarian. [unknown source]

Something we all need to remember: The fish you've acquired was quite happy not being owned by you, minding its own business. If you’re going to take it under your wing then you’re responsible for it. Every aspect of its life is under your control, from water quality and temperature to swimming space. [Nathan Hill in PFK]
Byron is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-08-2009, 12:02 PM
Member
 
WisFish's Avatar
 
Do you have the T-5 HO (High-Output) version or the standard non-HO fixtures?
WisFish is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-08-2009, 12:47 PM
Member
 
Byron's Avatar
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WisFish View Post
Do you have the T-5 HO (High-Output) version or the standard non-HO fixtures?
I have regular fixtures; they take T8 or T10 tubes, if I have the numbers correct, these are the same wattage, etc., but one of them is thinner and more common now as I believe they are slightly more intense light. I had to replace two of my three fixtures last month (got too old and gave out), and bought a twin-tube T5 HO fixture. It was way too much light over the 70g and 90g, so I tried it over my 115g, and even that was too bright. I have frequently joked that I expected my fish to be asking me for sunglasses.

After a week, (gave it a good tryout) I took it back and got the regular fixture and put my favourite tubes (48-inch) back in. Perfectly fine light, 80 watts over each of the 70g, 90g and 115g aquaria, plants all thriving after years of this [check out my new photos under my Aquariums]. Fish from tropical waters usually need very little light, and as long as the plants are growing, I consider the light sufficient. Many of these fish will pale under brighter light, some develop health issues (cardinals have a light phobia, as Baensch/Rhiel call it), so the least light as long as the plants are thriving, the better.

Byron.

Byron Hosking, BMus, MA
Vancouver, BC, Canada

The aquarist is one who must learn the ways of the biologist, the chemist, and the veterinarian. [unknown source]

Something we all need to remember: The fish you've acquired was quite happy not being owned by you, minding its own business. If you’re going to take it under your wing then you’re responsible for it. Every aspect of its life is under your control, from water quality and temperature to swimming space. [Nathan Hill in PFK]
Byron is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-08-2009, 11:13 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
I think you are right about the lighting. Someone mentioned individual reflectors to me and I wanted to read up on it. Way too much hassle and I think I probably don't need it. The place I bought them has decent looking plants and only one strip of the coralife on their tanks, although they have less depth and get the plants healthy I am sure. Mine are fixtures containing two standard 28 watt T5 bulbs each.

Those twin tube HO T5 are super bright, same wattage as 4 of my bulbs but still more intense. What brand did you buy? I tried Novalife I think was the name and had to return it as defective.
saulat is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-09-2009, 09:15 AM
Member
 
WisFish's Avatar
 
I agree. As you and Byron state, the T5 HO lights are just too bright. I tried the Nova T5 HO. It was too bight, too noisy and it got hot. So I switched to the triple tube t-8 fixture. The bulbs are cheap. I use sylvania daylight bulbs which are around $3.50 each. If you go with that fixture you'll probably have to replace the glass hood as well because the fixture is a little wider than standard.

Fluorescent Aquarium Lighting: Triple Tube Strip Lights

Aquarium Hoods & Canopies: All-Glass Twin-Tube Versa-Tops
WisFish is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-09-2009, 12:05 PM
Member
 
Byron's Avatar
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WisFish View Post
I agree. As you and Byron state, the T5 HO lights are just too bright. I tried the Nova T5 HO. It was too bight, too noisy and it got hot. So I switched to the triple tube t-8 fixture. The bulbs are cheap. I use sylvania daylight bulbs which are around $3.50 each. If you go with that fixture you'll probably have to replace the glass hood as well because the fixture is a little wider than standard.

Fluorescent Aquarium Lighting: Triple Tube Strip Lights

Aquarium Hoods & Canopies: All-Glass Twin-Tube Versa-Tops

Interesting, for years I had Sylvannia Full Spectrum and Daylight Deluxe (or name something similar) over my tanks. The combination provided light almost identical to what I have now, and the K was around 6500 with a slight emphasis on the blue (cool). I only changed because I used to buy them at Home Depot, and they stopped carrying Sylvannia. That was when I experimented with other tubes as I've mentioned elsewhere.

Byron.

Byron Hosking, BMus, MA
Vancouver, BC, Canada

The aquarist is one who must learn the ways of the biologist, the chemist, and the veterinarian. [unknown source]

Something we all need to remember: The fish you've acquired was quite happy not being owned by you, minding its own business. If you’re going to take it under your wing then you’re responsible for it. Every aspect of its life is under your control, from water quality and temperature to swimming space. [Nathan Hill in PFK]
Byron is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top Fin 50-80 Gallon Stand: Reviews/Opinions andrewr2488 Aquarium Products Reviews 1 01-10-2010 12:06 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome