What are my Options? Opinions needed on algae control.
Tropical Fish

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources » Freshwater Fish and Aquariums » Beginner Freshwater Aquarium » What are my Options? Opinions needed on algae control.

What are my Options? Opinions needed on algae control.

This is a discussion on What are my Options? Opinions needed on algae control. within the Beginner Freshwater Aquarium forums, part of the Freshwater Fish and Aquariums category; --> I have a ten gallon tank with 3 guppies two female one male, 3 neon tetras and a cory catfish. Now my tank is ...

Check out these freshwater fish profiles
Spotfin Cory
Spotfin Cory
Lemon Tetra
Lemon Tetra
Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools vBmenu Seperating Image Search this Thread vBmenu Seperating Image
What are my Options? Opinions needed on algae control.
Old 10-14-2009, 08:09 PM   #1
 
What are my Options? Opinions needed on algae control.

I have a ten gallon tank with 3 guppies two female one male, 3 neon tetras and a cory catfish. Now my tank is getting different types of algae on the glass/ornaments/suction cups. Instead of me cleaning it what can I get to eat/clean. I was thinking of either snails or obviously algae eaters. What are your experts opinions/ pro's and cons on both? Or are their other options?

Pre- thanx

Last edited by joshheat25; 10-14-2009 at 08:13 PM..
joshheat25 is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 08:14 PM   #2
 
http://www.fishforum.com/freshwater-...my-tank-30300/
joshheat25 is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 08:33 PM   #3
 
JohnnyD44's Avatar
 
you can always try and eliminate the algae through a 'natural' process......algae can be kept under control with partial water changes

what are you water parameters?
JohnnyD44 is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 12:15 AM   #4
 
MoneyMitch's Avatar
 
going to need to know what your nitrate levels are along with your light schedule. in the mean time cut your light cycle in half for a week or two and do like 30% w/c every three days or so.
MoneyMitch is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 03:26 AM   #5
 
Id'ing the algae will make it easier for us to advise you.

James' Planted Tank - Algae Guide

All algae will be caused by at least one of the following problems:
Lack of CO2
Unstable CO2
Lack of nitrate, phosphate and pottasium and even traces
Undetectable ammonia
To much light in relation to CO2 and ferts
Poor Circulation/filtration

Contrary to popular belief excess nitrate and phosphate do not cause algae
Jack Middleton is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 04:01 AM   #6
 
MoneyMitch's Avatar
 
These resources backup what I said. Read this first and heres another one.
MoneyMitch is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 04:09 AM   #7
 
so you're saying that nitrates cause algae then? my planted tank get 40ppm of nitrate and 3ppm of phosphate a day, funnily enough my tank is algae free.

you may actually want to log onto UKAP's, where people that actually know about plants and algae go, and again you will find that nitrate and phosphate do not cause algae, the paper which you linked to is from 2007, it is old.
Jack Middleton is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 04:11 AM   #8
 
MoneyMitch's Avatar
 
old but reliable, do you not see the agency's that are cited?
MoneyMitch is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 04:17 AM   #9
 
obviously the source isnt reliable, it has been proven that nitrates and phosphates dont cause algae.

Aquarium Algae ID (updated 16th Spet '08)
Jack Middleton is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 04:21 AM   #10
 
MoneyMitch's Avatar
 
again look at the source... any real background info? NO any legitimate institutes? NO
MoneyMitch is offline  
Closed Thread

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions needed KarlS Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 15 10-05-2008 02:22 PM
something to control algae closeyetfar Freshwater and Tropical Fish 12 09-13-2008 12:16 PM
algae- how to best control it! miagrrl Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 2 11-28-2007 06:56 AM
need advice for algae control.. magic_marty Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 16 03-25-2007 09:04 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.