Want opinions on small tank stocking plan - Page 2 - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 21 Old 06-30-2014, 09:53 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
CaptainNemo's Avatar
 
They have both embers and cpds at the lfs thankfully, they have pretty much anything I could think about stocking tbh, I think I'll end up with embers and maybe some rcs and a nerite
CaptainNemo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 21 Old 06-30-2014, 10:00 PM
Member
 
tankman12's Avatar
 
Okay that is a perfect plan.
Posted via Mobile Device
tankman12 is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 06-30-2014, 10:09 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
CaptainNemo's Avatar
 
The lfs had a really mellow betta in with the embers, would a betta eat the shrimp? Theyre so pretty but I know they can be really temperamental
CaptainNemo is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 06-30-2014, 10:13 PM
Member
 
tankman12's Avatar
 
If u have a lot of moss and u get the shrimp as adults. Then u might be good. But the betta will snack on the babies. But with a lot of moss, some babies should survive.
Posted via Mobile Device
tankman12 is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 06-30-2014, 10:15 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
CaptainNemo's Avatar
 
Ok, the tank will be modestly planted and I have a marimo moss ball, I'll have to look into getting normal aquatic moss too. Is the pH the embers like okay for rcs and bettas as well? Oh and I got peat moss! I'm gonna measure the pH again in the morning, tanks for the suggestion (sorry for all these questions >.<)
CaptainNemo is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 06-30-2014, 10:21 PM
Member
 
tankman12's Avatar
 
I am not 2 great with shrimp. But i think they like it acidic as well. The betta likes it low, i know that for sure. And yes i meant java moss or christmas tree moss, the shrimp like that more, i believe. I am happy 2 have some1 that actually listens 2 me. But at the same time does a little of there own research as well.
Posted via Mobile Device
tankman12 is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 07-02-2014, 02:22 PM
Member
 
I wouldn't put embers in a 5 gallon. They DO grow over an inch and while the bioload may not be too large for the tank, the fish need room to swim. I think you should stick to a betta, shirmp and a nerite.
Flint is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 07-02-2014, 02:27 PM
Member
 
tankman12's Avatar
 
No the most that embers get is 4/5 of an inch. U may get 1 or 2 that reach an inch.
Posted via Mobile Device
tankman12 is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 08-01-2014, 12:30 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
CaptainNemo's Avatar
 
So it's a month later and my tank is fully cycled and I'm ready to get fish. I've decided on 6 embers, a few shrimp and a nerite for now and potentially a betta in the future but not yet. My question now is how many fish should I get at a time and what order should I introduce them to the tank in, I want to make as few trips to the fish store as possible bc it's kind of a pain to get too, but I don't want to overwhelm the fish or the tank and compromise either.

Also, the pH is pretty consistently 7.8, should I address that before adding fish, I know embers prefer lower than that. I have peat moss in the filter and am probably going to add almond leaves if I can find some at the lfs. I bought a chemical pH down but have been reluctant to use it if I don't have too, and I don't know how temporary/permanent that solution is
CaptainNemo is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 08-01-2014, 05:03 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
CaptainNemo's Avatar
 
Can somebody help me? pleaaase?
CaptainNemo is offline  
Reply

Tags
college , neon tetras , nerite snails , red cherry shrimp , stocking

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stock Plan for 30-Gallon Cube: Need Some Second Opinions NoahG Freshwater and Tropical Fish 12 11-14-2012 11:45 PM
Advice wanted on stocking plan for 90gallon tank wyjmk6 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 2 09-03-2012 04:59 PM
Opinions on stocking a new tank ejcapulet Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 2 06-27-2011 12:20 PM
100 litre stocking plan - opinions? joshuaedgington Freshwater and Tropical Fish 17 10-28-2010 04:02 AM
A plan for re-stocking 60g tank Inga Freshwater and Tropical Fish 11 08-06-2010 12:55 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome