Opinions please - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 10-17-2009, 05:10 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
JerseyBird97's Avatar
 
Opinions please

I'm looking for a new heater for my 75gal. I'm leaning towards 2-200 watt heater cause my tank is fairly long (4ft). I'm looking for opinions on brands like Viaaqua, Odyssea and Weipro.
JerseyBird97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 10-17-2009, 07:59 PM
Member
 
Twistersmom's Avatar
 
Hello! I wish I could be of some help, but I am not familiar with any of those name brands.
Twistersmom is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 10-17-2009, 08:22 PM
Member
 
bearwithfish's Avatar
 
not really sure onthe brands but you really need to go with a 300 for the tank of that size we had one and used a 150 on each side to help keep the temp stable.

Back in the Game!!! Live Bearers in a 40 Breeder
bearwithfish is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 10-18-2009, 06:26 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
JerseyBird97's Avatar
 
bear, since my tank is rated for (1) 300 wouldn't (2) 200's do well?
JerseyBird97 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 10-18-2009, 07:05 AM
Member
 
JouteiMike's Avatar
 
Two 200W heaters will be fine.

I've had good luck with using two 200W heaters on each side of my 75 gallon in the past. However, I am not familiar with the brands you mentioned. I've used Eheim and Visatherm in the past, and still use my visatherm today. Had no problems with those brands.

Last edited by JouteiMike; 10-18-2009 at 07:08 AM.
JouteiMike is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 10-18-2009, 07:41 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
JerseyBird97's Avatar
 
Thanks for all the input
JerseyBird97 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 10-18-2009, 08:37 AM
Kim
Member
 
The Visitherm Stealth models have been my best friend. They are very accurate and I'd highly recommend them to anyone. The Visitherm Deluxe model works just as well, but it is made of glass so you have to unplug it when draining water.

20 gallon long: 3 adult Neolamprologus similis + about 11 fry of various ages; low light planted tank
20 gallon long:2 freshwater dwarf puffers (Puff Puff and Poofer); medium-light planted tank
10 gallon: 1 male betta named Wormy; low light planted tank
10 gallon: 1 male betta named Dante; low light planted tank
2, 5.5 gallon tanks that are currently empty (I see more fish on the horizon )
Kim is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 10-18-2009, 11:05 AM
Member
 
willow's Avatar
 
you've probably already made your choice,however i just
wanted to say that for my 4ft tank i have two heaters,they are visitherm,
and i'd use tat brand evrey time.
good luck with your choice.
oh yeah the other reason i have two is incase one gives out,i would still
have one running.
willow is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 10-19-2009, 08:54 AM
Member
 
bearwithfish's Avatar
 
sorry it took so long to respond yes the two 200's would be great i just miss read your post... sorry i am a bone head at times....LOL ......

Back in the Game!!! Live Bearers in a 40 Breeder
bearwithfish is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for opinions! Mikeyboi86 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 12 03-01-2010 10:53 AM
Need some opinions...i know you got them anthony1238 Freshwater and Tropical Fish 19 08-08-2008 02:25 PM
opinions please porksnorkel DIY Aquarium 33 06-01-2008 09:08 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome