Opinions needed - Page 2 - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 16 Old 10-02-2008, 03:05 PM
Member
 
Tyyrlym's Avatar
 
Umm... you got some real bad advice.

There's no reason to replace the sponge or the Biomax, well, at least not every other month. You need to do maintenance but all the sponge needs is a good rinse and a squeeze in some of your aquarium water and the biomax doesn't need any special care at all. The only thing that needs replacement on a regular basis is the carbon. In fact by doing this you're subjecting your fish to a mini-cycle once a month.

You don't want to keep the cycle going, you want it to end. You want to cultivate enough bacteria to keep processing the waste and prevent ammonia or nitrites from building up to detectable levels. By tossing out the filter media once a month you kill off half your bacteria and have to start recolonizing the filter.

As for your sand, cichlid sand is good for african cichlids, of which you have none. The pH of your tank is likely high because of that sand which only increases the danger of the ammonia. If you do replace the substrate don't buy stone from an aquarium store. Go to a lawn and garden center and buy pea gravel.

Tetra Fanatic
Watch my tank progress from Craigslist salvage to fishy habitat: Aaron's Tank
The only things that happen quickly in an aquarium are bad things.
Tyyrlym is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 16 Old 10-02-2008, 03:13 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
KarlS's Avatar
 
ok, so how often should I replace my sponge and biomax?? Also should I be rising my biomax or leaving it as it till the change???? As for tha pea gravel is there any special kind I should be looking for or is it all the same?

I am another soul happily lost to the aquarium addiction..

150gal freshwater
7 Angels (2 marble, 1 blue diamond, 1 leopard, 1 not too sure & 2 Koi)
10 Serpae Longfin Tetras
6 Congo Tetras
2 Clown Loachs
2 Gold Gouramis
1 Dwarf Blood Gouramis
1 Blue Gourami
1 Moonlight Gourami
2 Baby Hypostomus plecostomus
1 Grey Bichir (4 1/2" - 5 ")
1 Crab
KarlS is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 10-02-2008, 03:45 PM
Member
 
Tyyrlym's Avatar
 
Replace your sponge when it can no longer hold its shape. When you squeeze it out and it doesn't bounce back to form. This should take months or years. There's little reason to replace biomax. If it starts to gunk up give it a good rinse in tank water and keep going with it.

For gravel look for river rock or just pea gravel. Nothing really special.

Tetra Fanatic
Watch my tank progress from Craigslist salvage to fishy habitat: Aaron's Tank
The only things that happen quickly in an aquarium are bad things.
Tyyrlym is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 10-02-2008, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
KarlS's Avatar
 
Thanks for the advice, now i just need to figure out whats up with my 2 filters not pumping out the water nearly as well anymore...

I am another soul happily lost to the aquarium addiction..

150gal freshwater
7 Angels (2 marble, 1 blue diamond, 1 leopard, 1 not too sure & 2 Koi)
10 Serpae Longfin Tetras
6 Congo Tetras
2 Clown Loachs
2 Gold Gouramis
1 Dwarf Blood Gouramis
1 Blue Gourami
1 Moonlight Gourami
2 Baby Hypostomus plecostomus
1 Grey Bichir (4 1/2" - 5 ")
1 Crab
KarlS is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 10-05-2008, 11:40 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
KarlS's Avatar
 
All seems to be normal again.. it's almost as if a mini plague swept through my tank and killed specifc fish. I've been keeping a close eye on the rest of them and they seem to be happier then ever, they're lively and their colors very pronouced. Also they no longer hang around the top of the tank unless it's feeding time, and the tank looks great overall, it looks crystal clear... I am at a loss to what happened. None the less many thanks to all those who came to my aid.

Cheers ..

I am another soul happily lost to the aquarium addiction..

150gal freshwater
7 Angels (2 marble, 1 blue diamond, 1 leopard, 1 not too sure & 2 Koi)
10 Serpae Longfin Tetras
6 Congo Tetras
2 Clown Loachs
2 Gold Gouramis
1 Dwarf Blood Gouramis
1 Blue Gourami
1 Moonlight Gourami
2 Baby Hypostomus plecostomus
1 Grey Bichir (4 1/2" - 5 ")
1 Crab
KarlS is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 10-05-2008, 01:22 PM
Member
 
willow's Avatar
 
glad all has worked out for you.
there have been cases of mature tank crashes in the past.
perhaps your has had a little of this .
willow is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions please JerseyBird97 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 8 10-19-2009 08:54 AM
What are my Options? Opinions needed on algae control. joshheat25 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 29 10-17-2009 01:44 PM
Need some opinions...i know you got them anthony1238 Freshwater and Tropical Fish 19 08-08-2008 02:25 PM
opinions please porksnorkel DIY Aquarium 33 06-01-2008 09:08 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome