Opinions on the design please - Page 2 - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 16 Old 02-08-2013, 08:59 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Molinious's Avatar
 
its aboot time i looked to see where people are from haha

Fish will brighten your day even when the world tries to darken it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvLjCixucBk&feature=plcp
Molinious is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 16 Old 02-08-2013, 11:00 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Molinious's Avatar
 
ok lighting for it...... T5 or T8? Tubes ir led?

Fish will brighten your day even when the world tries to darken it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvLjCixucBk&feature=plcp
Molinious is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 02-08-2013, 11:16 AM
JDM
Member
 
JDM's Avatar
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molinious View Post
ok lighting for it...... T5 or T8? Tubes ir led?
LED... but I am biased as it is all I looked at.

Any idea of what plants you want in the tank? Most LED would restrict you somewhat to the slightly lower light selection of plants so it is a consideration. I am toying around with the idea of a second fixture but I am making out very well with the first that I probably won't actually do it.

A Marineland Doublebright 48" is rated at 2,600 lux at 24"... (how tall is your tank?... rating would have to be adjusted for that) I use the 24" fixture rated at 1,750 lux at 24" and I make out OK with a wide range of plants so far.

Some examples: low light seems to be in the 500 lux area, (crypts). Moderate light 500-1,000 lux, (Anubias, sagittaria). Bright 1,000 - 1,500 lux (ludwigia). Very bright 1,500+ lux, (cabomba, hygrophila, vallisneria).

Jeff.


Total years fish keeping experience: 7 months, can't start counting in years for a while yet.

The shotgun approach to a planted tank with an LED fixture

Small scale nitrogen cycle with a jar, water and fish food; no substrate, filter etc
JDM is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 02-08-2013, 04:00 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Molinious's Avatar
 
The tank is 24" tall, this is where i have a failing, working out the w per litre or gallon, its a 120us gal 48 x 24 x 24

Fish will brighten your day even when the world tries to darken it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvLjCixucBk&feature=plcp
Molinious is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 02-08-2013, 05:46 PM
JDM
Member
 
JDM's Avatar
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Molinious View Post
The tank is 24" tall, this is where i have a failing, working out the w per litre or gallon, its a 120us gal 48 x 24 x 24
Watts per volume is not terribly useful unless you are comparing the same fixture with different bulbs over the same tank size and usually that is not the case. The 48" LED fixture would work out well and ends up with a good lux rating for your depth, higher than mine and I see good growth on all but the highest light needing plants so far. Unless you are going for a CO2 injection high energy tank setup, LED would work work fine. They usually all have some sort of lux rating so you can actually compare LED fixtures against each other more easily than tubes. If you can get over 1,500 lux at 24" with any fixture, that would be the aim.

The bulb replacement compared to the LED lifespan makes up for the difference in up front cost as well as the long term operating expense. I'm sure that electricity costs in the UK is at least what it is here. LED is cheaper to run. Price a pair of 48" 6,500K bulbs and figure replacing them once a year on top of the fixture needed.

Anyway, those are my thoughts on the lighting matter.

Jeff


Total years fish keeping experience: 7 months, can't start counting in years for a while yet.

The shotgun approach to a planted tank with an LED fixture

Small scale nitrogen cycle with a jar, water and fish food; no substrate, filter etc
JDM is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 02-08-2013, 05:50 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Molinious's Avatar
 
And very useful they have been aswelll!

Fish will brighten your day even when the world tries to darken it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RvLjCixucBk&feature=plcp
Molinious is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Design classes nags DIY Aquarium 4 05-21-2012 04:14 PM
Aquascaping Design stevenjohn21 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 4 08-29-2011 10:02 AM
Opinions on sump design Neylandboy DIY Aquarium 4 04-14-2011 12:20 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome