My tank has cycled! Need opinions now! - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-08-2009, 02:00 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
MBilyeu's Avatar
 
My tank has cycled! Need opinions now!

After about 11 weeks of headache, I finally have a cycled tank! Now on to the plans which I need some ideas for and opinions on. My idea is to have mostly guppies, but with a centerpiece fish, and maybe a couple of dwarf gouramis. I want all additional guppies to come from my breeding tank which I am in the process of cycling, and will then look for a female. So I was thinking about getting two dwarf gouramis this weekend, and then looking for a centerpiece fish. I originally wanted a bala shark, but now know that there is no way that is working. I was also looking at an angelfish, but I don't know if my tank is big enough, and if the angel would be too aggressive. I like the geman blue ram and american flagfish on liveaquaria, but after shipping that is way to much for one fish for this tank, and I can't find them locally. The final plan is to move the glofish to another tank, get two gouramis, breed guppies to eventually have 8-10 in there, and have a centerpiece fish. I am unsure if I will be keeping the inverts or moving them to another tank later on. Opinions?

My wife rolls her eyes when I talk about getting another tank
MBilyeu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-08-2009, 07:28 AM
Member
 
Tyyrlym's Avatar
 
If you get dwarf gouramis you need to make sure you get either two females or a male and a female. I've yet to see a female dwarf gourami for sale in a pet store though, its almost exclusively male.

Tetra Fanatic
Watch my tank progress from Craigslist salvage to fishy habitat: Aaron's Tank
The only things that happen quickly in an aquarium are bad things.
Tyyrlym is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-08-2009, 10:56 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
MBilyeu's Avatar
 
Two males are no good huh? Well what about just one male for now? I have seen some female dwarf gouramis for sale, and I would get one but I would want them breeding in my community tank. As long as I keep the water level up I shouldn't have a problem with that correct?

Does anyone have suggestions for my centerpiece fish?

My wife rolls her eyes when I talk about getting another tank
MBilyeu is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 01-08-2009, 11:28 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
MBilyeu's Avatar
 
To add on to my question... I was wondering if I can look at a semi-aggressive fish for a centerpiece? I like the thought of having an angelfish, even though I might not be able to stock the tank with as many guppies then. What about a single smaller cichlid? Like a cockatoo or an apistogramma? I know that the rams would work, but I just haven't found any locally.

I think what I am looking for is a fish that will be slightly bigger than the rest, so it will stand out and look like the leader of the tank. Without stressing the other fish of course!

My wife rolls her eyes when I talk about getting another tank
MBilyeu is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-09-2009, 09:51 AM
Member
 
Tyyrlym's Avatar
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by MBilyeu View Post
Two males are no good huh? Well what about just one male for now? I have seen some female dwarf gouramis for sale, and I would get one but I would want them breeding in my community tank. As long as I keep the water level up I shouldn't have a problem with that correct?
No, two males are not good. Not two male bettas kinda bad, but still bad. You can have multiple males in large tanks where they can cordon off their own territories but in smaller tanks they'll be in each other's face all the time.

If you've seen some females consider yourself lucky, I want a pair of dwarf gourami's at some point but won't buy them until I see a pair... and you know, get another tank.

Tetra Fanatic
Watch my tank progress from Craigslist salvage to fishy habitat: Aaron's Tank
The only things that happen quickly in an aquarium are bad things.
Tyyrlym is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-09-2009, 08:16 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
MBilyeu's Avatar
 
Thanks tyyrlym. Does anybody know about putting an angel in? Any other suggestions?

My wife rolls her eyes when I talk about getting another tank
MBilyeu is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-09-2009, 11:48 PM
Yes, I think that an angel would do just fine in there as long as you only had ONE angel! It would be a great tank! I think that an angel is prly the best bet for a centerpeice fish! Just make sure you have some hiding places because at first the angel may chase the gups a bit, but he will stop pestering them! Its only temporary! So YES, i would put in an angel fish
veganchick is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-10-2009, 12:18 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
MBilyeu's Avatar
 
And I did!!!! Thanks for your input.

My wife rolls her eyes when I talk about getting another tank
MBilyeu is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Could my tank almost be cycled!? marinebiologist21 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 5 04-01-2008 07:30 PM
Cycled Tank??? tsalvageboy Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 4 06-12-2007 11:10 PM
Is that it? Is my tank cycled? Andyandsue Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 15 01-26-2007 12:44 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome