Looking for opinions! - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
View Poll Results: Do you like this tank setup?
Yes 2 66.67%
You should change.... (Explain and advise!) 1 33.33%
Voters: 3. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 02-28-2010, 08:15 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Looking for opinions!

Hello Hello, Been coming up with a tank setup I want to try and I want to know your opinions!

Anyway lets start with tank size obviously. I am wanting a 57 Gallon framless tank. Indonesian Biotope or as close as i can get to it!

Fish
Striata Botia Loach- 3
Tiger barb-
Green - 9
Normal - 5
Albino - 4
Siamese Algea eaters - 3
Moonlight gouramis - 2 (pair)

Plants
Limnophila Sessiliflora - along the back of the tank.
Pellia- On any rock work i may have
Vallisneria spiralis - weaving through any drift wood i may have.
Eleocharis acicularis - Foreground
Riccia - Floating
Nymphaea lostus- Floating/ foreground corner.

Any suggestions? Comments? Advice? please let me know!
Mikeyboi86 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-28-2010, 08:34 PM
Member
 
Angel079's Avatar
 
The barb selection ok.
The Botia alright; thou I donno if they'd behave better in larger groups.
The Siamese I'd really only get when you can house them in group of like 6+ and that's not possible with your tank size and other choices. So in your set up you may be much happier with a group of Oto's like 6-8 of them.
The peaceful Gouramis I'd def not add to the mix listed above.

For the plants, neat list but unless you get a bunch of each of the plants that's not gonna fill that tank out much so either up the number of plants each or add more/ other plants

~ Life Is Too Short, Break The Rules, Forgive Quickly, Kiss Slowly, Love Truly, Laugh Uncontrollably And Never Regret Anything that Made You Smile.
Life May Not Be The Party We Hoped For, But While We're Here, We Should Dance. ~
Angel079 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Angel079 For This Useful Post:
Mikeyboi86 (02-28-2010)
post #3 of 13 Old 02-28-2010, 08:44 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
eh otos are south american... Know any Indonesian algae eater types? or another type of gourami i can pair that are found throughout southeast asian and indonesia? and are you sure that the size of the moonlights wont keep them safe? I mean the do get about 7" And they aren't exactly slow movers.

Also the plants, I didnt put any quantities, but i do plan on getting a lot of each kind. The hair grass I want to be in a big "lawn" like patch in the fore ground. Limnophila Sessiliflora is gunna be ALL along the back of the tank making a "forest" I want pellia COVERING my rock work.

Also I just realized that it looks like i want 2 pairs of gouramis.... so anyone that reads down this far I want 2 gouramis making 1 pair.

Last edited by Mikeyboi86; 02-28-2010 at 09:03 PM.
Mikeyboi86 is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 02-28-2010, 09:07 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
OOO! anyone know where Chocolate gouramis can be found naturally? (Hoping Indonseia somewhere)
Mikeyboi86 is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-28-2010, 09:32 PM
Member
 
Angel079's Avatar
 
Apart from water parameters what I'd look at with any set up is:
Compatibility (active vs peaceful fish)
Tank size vs stock of all adults fish considered (avoid overstocking)
In what group sizes fish will be happy (and so with healthy)
And last but not least for the fish I've housed myself my pers exp

If you get all you have listed in the OP and a add pair of gouramis it is very safe to say your 57g is well overstocked and mixed with calmer fish vs super active fish, personally I'd not wanna go for that kinda set up but it ain't my tank.

~ Life Is Too Short, Break The Rules, Forgive Quickly, Kiss Slowly, Love Truly, Laugh Uncontrollably And Never Regret Anything that Made You Smile.
Life May Not Be The Party We Hoped For, But While We're Here, We Should Dance. ~
Angel079 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-28-2010, 09:42 PM
Member
 
Angel079's Avatar
 
This may be interesting for ya Freshwater fish of Indonesia

~ Life Is Too Short, Break The Rules, Forgive Quickly, Kiss Slowly, Love Truly, Laugh Uncontrollably And Never Regret Anything that Made You Smile.
Life May Not Be The Party We Hoped For, But While We're Here, We Should Dance. ~
Angel079 is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-28-2010, 09:46 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Okay. I gotcha. Do you happen to know what minimum amount of tiger barbs i can keep to keep them from fin nipping other tankmates (Hopefully!)?? I do like the idea of mixing the colors!
Mikeyboi86 is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-28-2010, 09:55 PM
Member
 
Angel079's Avatar
 
I have 9 (Albino) Tiger Barbs in my 55g set up, no nipper issues there. I'd at least get a group of 6 of them, if you see issues add 1-2 more. They're not very notorious (like certain Tetras) to be fin nippers.

~ Life Is Too Short, Break The Rules, Forgive Quickly, Kiss Slowly, Love Truly, Laugh Uncontrollably And Never Regret Anything that Made You Smile.
Life May Not Be The Party We Hoped For, But While We're Here, We Should Dance. ~
Angel079 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-28-2010, 09:55 PM
Gold Member
 
aunt kymmie's Avatar
 
I've got a pair of Siamese Algae Eaters and they do perfectly fine as a pair. I can't say I've ever heard of them needing to be in a group?? As far as the botia I'd do a minumum of five, with most loaches the more the merrier. Just my 2 cents.

If you don't stand up for something you'll fall for anything...
aunt kymmie is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-28-2010, 10:00 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angel079 View Post
This may be interesting for ya Freshwater fish of Indonesia
Oh wow thanks
Mikeyboi86 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions please JerseyBird97 Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 8 10-19-2009 08:54 AM
Need some opinions...i know you got them anthony1238 Freshwater and Tropical Fish 19 08-08-2008 02:25 PM
opinions please porksnorkel DIY Aquarium 33 06-01-2008 09:08 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome