Not happy with Mardel live ammonia meter
Tropical Fish

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources » TFK Resources » Aquarium Products Reviews » Not happy with Mardel live ammonia meter

Not happy with Mardel live ammonia meter

This is a discussion on Not happy with Mardel live ammonia meter within the Aquarium Products Reviews forums, part of the TFK Resources category; --> I am not happy with it at all so far. I am ammonia cycling the tank right now. I know there is at least ...

Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools vBmenu Seperating Image Search this Thread vBmenu Seperating Image
Not happy with Mardel live ammonia meter
Old 08-27-2007, 07:01 PM   #1
 
Not happy with Mardel live ammonia meter

I am not happy with it at all so far. I am ammonia cycling the tank right now. I know there is at least 4 ppm in there based on my liquid test kit and it still isn't registering anything and I put it in like 4 hours ago.

I figured it might help to tell me when my ammonia goes back down to add some, but apparently nothing is better than just doing the test everyday. Maybe its so far off charts the meter can't even register a reading.
jkastner19 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 07:16 PM   #2
 
Sorry for the wrong forum placement of post originally.
jkastner19 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 08:03 PM   #3
 
Lupin's Avatar
 
Why not use API test kit?
Lupin is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 08:13 PM   #4
 
I have been using TetraTest kit mostly until now. Is API better? What's funny is my TetraTest master kit gave me stuff for GH/KH test and how to determine CO2 based on that and pH, I think... but gave me no scale to determine the GH/KH measurement, what it means. I didn't try test yet, I assume it will be some color that I have no idea what it means in degrees or ppm.

Yeah, I made my first brutal mistake, thinking I could go a convenient easy route with the live ammonia tester in the tank. Good thing I was lazy and stupid on day 6 during cycling and not when I have my fish and plants all going perfect.
jkastner19 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 08:48 PM   #5
 
The API test kit is much cheaper, but doesn't give you the tests for GH, KH, or cO2 content. Unless you are totally into testing for all of that, the API kit is a better buy. The only reason you would need the Mardel kit is if you were dealing with wild-caught fish (GH and KH tests) or were really into plants and using cO2 injection.

Mardel does have a hotline number. Have you called it?
herefishy is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 08:55 PM   #6
 
Yeah, I will have to try calling that number and also Tetra maybe and ask why I didn't get a GH/KH scale card to make a reading, just for at least having a complete kit.

Maybe that live monitor just has to soak longer, but jeez, if my fish was fully up and I spiked to 4 ppm ammonia, well, if that thing doesn't register... it just basically was useless in saving my fish :)

Hrm, the max toxic scale it says on it is 0.40... maybe 4 ppm is so far off scale it can't measure and is all confused.
jkastner19 is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 09:02 PM   #7
 
jsm11482's Avatar
 
If it is a liquid kit, you measure the kh/gh as follows:

1) Take the water sample.

2) Add one drop of the solution into the tube.

3) Shake it up, the water should turn blue.

4) Repeat step 2-3 until the water turns yellow.

The number of drops you added, in total, is the degree of hardness.

As for the ammonia tester, does it have a removable plastic or tape cover that you may not have removed? Good luck!
jsm11482 is offline  
Old 08-28-2007, 08:47 AM   #8
 
Oh, so it doesn't need a scale. I shoulda read the instructions, when I didn't see the scale, I just assumed something was missing. Thanks for clearing that up.

Lesson to others, never assume! :)
jkastner19 is offline  
Closed Thread

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What to do with my 1 gallon tank? Shrimp? Snail? Plants only? what will live happy? doubleatheman Invertebrates 11 03-19-2010 12:16 AM
any such thing as a permanent ammonia/nitrate meter? doraslilhitman Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 3 02-09-2009 08:27 AM
Happy Betta + 5 Glofish can they live w a Barb? kbansink Anabantids 4 12-30-2008 09:22 PM
Can an Odessa Barb live w my happy betta and 5 tetras? kbansink Cyprinids and Atherinids 2 12-02-2008 04:53 PM
Mardel Coppersafe? prg9483 Tropical Fish Diseases 10 07-23-2008 10:46 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 PM.