Need new 48" Lights for new tank - Opinions? - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-24-2013, 01:15 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Robbin48's Avatar
 
Need new 48" Lights for new tank - Opinions?

Has anyone purchased these lights and have an opinion? I just purchased a new 75 g and need lights for a planted tank....they are on e-bay for ~ $60.00


Robbin48 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-24-2013, 07:23 PM
Member
 
MoneyMitch's Avatar
 
dont see any brnad marks as brand can play a GIANT role in t5 fixtures, some of the cheaper fixtures have a very sub par balalst and a crappy reflector. both are major factors on t5 lighting, if your ballast is crappy your output will be crappy, if your reflector is crappy your not going to get maximum efficany out of the light. generally what i found is you get what you pay for as far as fixtures go.
MoneyMitch is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to MoneyMitch For This Useful Post:
Robbin48 (03-24-2013)
post #3 of 8 Old 03-24-2013, 09:03 PM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Robbin48's Avatar
 
Thank you...I was pretty much expecting that answer.... the search continues
Robbin48 is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 03-27-2013, 07:38 PM
Member
 
MoneyMitch's Avatar
 
your best bet if you plan to stay low tech is to go for a dual t8 fixture, im facing major algae issues with my t5 fixture without the use of co2.
MoneyMitch is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to MoneyMitch For This Useful Post:
Robbin48 (03-28-2013)
post #5 of 8 Old 03-28-2013, 03:23 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Robbin48's Avatar
 
Thanks for the help, I'm going to look at those T8 ones...
Robbin48 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-28-2013, 03:25 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Robbin48's Avatar
 
On an off-topic note, sad we traded Iggy tonight
Robbin48 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 04-04-2013, 07:39 PM
Member
 
MoneyMitch's Avatar
 
=( what did you get in return? and how is the light window shopping going
MoneyMitch is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-05-2013, 01:39 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Robbin48's Avatar
 
We got two rookies and a 1st round draft pick.....

I have been thinking about getting a regular fluorescent T8 fixture and two daylight bulbs (or should I get a four light fixture?) and hanging it. I do have a T5 on my 37 g and am having some issues with algae (hair) like you were having. I cut down the light to eight hours and it's better but maybe lower light tubes?
Robbin48 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Moon" LED lights effect on plants Freshcatch Beginner Planted Aquarium 4 09-20-2012 12:11 PM
Question about "Luner lights" and freshwater eels & pics Im_Bender Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 2 02-10-2008 06:19 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome