anyone know a good protein skimmer - Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-14-2009, 06:33 AM Thread Starter
New Member
 
Question anyone know a good protein skimmer

basically what the thread is asking for

"Fish are Friends not Food"

55 gallon tank
21 pounds of live rock
60 pounds of sand 40 live 20 not
25 to 35 pounds of non live rock
1 three stripe Damsels
1 salfin tang
1 clark's clownfish
1 six line
1 wachtman goby
Firstsalt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-24-2009, 10:18 PM
Member
 
eileen's Avatar
 
Try http://www.drsfostersmith.com They have good products and the prices are better then the fish stores. The protein skimmers range from low to high prices. They have a nice selection and some have customer testimonials on the product that you can check out. Even with shipping the prices are still better then the fish stores.
eileen is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-25-2009, 01:56 AM
New Member
 
B Castle's Avatar
 
IMO the best skimmer around is MRC (My Reef Creations). I know lots of people with them, and all of them say they are customers for life. I bought a Reef Octopus, also a very good skimmer but I'd have bought an MRC if I had the budget for it. I am far more impressed with the job that the recirc skimmers do than the "regular" ones. Supposedly Bubble Kings are the Rolls Royce, but they cost more than my tank, so...

I'm sure you will get MANY different opinions.

I think the smartest thing you can do (other than what you are doing now, i.e. looking for quality) is to buy one that is oversized for your tank. Larger skimmers do a better job plus allow you some room to upgrade tanks without having to replace it.

Frankly, I think a "gallon rating" is ridiculous anyway.... bioload is FAR more important to skimmer adequacy than how much water is in the tank.

Last edited by B Castle; 06-25-2009 at 01:59 AM. Reason: Added info
B Castle is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-25-2009, 07:05 AM
Member
 
onefish2fish's Avatar
 
i use a MRC MR2 and i like it however my only complaint is the air intake is loud. it isnt a problem if its in a stand or plumbed to a basement/sump room though.
i agree, it is a very good idea to get an over-rated skimmer as Bcastle mentioned, as this is one of the most important things for your tank. the MR2 is rated 300 gallons where my tank is only 85+40 sump. it is also a very good idea to find a local reefing club in your area so you can pick up a used skimmer that would be 10x better then one you bought brand new for the same price. reading online reviews is also very smart.
to name a few good skimmers:
MRC, MTC, ASM, WM, BK, Octopus, ATB. honestly the majority of the skimmers from doctorfosters are garbage. dont get me wrong, some are decent but many arnt up to par.
and i have heard great things about the bubble kings but the cone skimmers, like this one for example:
The New Jersey Reefers Club - K-2 make BKs look like honda civics IMO.
onefish2fish is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me with my Protein skimmer burtandurny101 DIY Aquarium 0 03-12-2010 09:16 PM
good protein skimmer for 36 gallon? demasonisrule Saltwater Aquarium Equipment 4 01-10-2010 11:59 AM
Is Skilter 250 power filter & protein skimmer good for 26g? benny503 Beginner Saltwater Aquariums 40 07-07-2008 07:52 PM
Protein Skimmer Help MarineMan150 Saltwater Aquarium Equipment 5 01-24-2007 04:31 PM
Protein Skimmer? Marine1 Saltwater Aquarium Equipment 4 01-12-2007 11:43 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome