Aquaripure Review
Tropical Fish

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources » Aquarium Forum Sponsors » Aquaripure » Aquaripure Review

Aquaripure Review

This is a discussion on Aquaripure Review within the Aquaripure forums, part of the Aquarium Forum Sponsors category; --> I purchased the med version denitrator, it came nicely wrapped and on time. On first inspection I felt the materials and overall build of ...

 
Old 03-22-2011, 06:34 PM   #1
 
Aquaripure Review

I purchased the med version denitrator, it came nicely wrapped and on time. On first inspection I felt the materials and overall build of the unit was top notch. I consider myself a pretty good DIY dude, but I couldn't have designed this unit for that price, even though I have a solid working knowledge of how it works.

I followed the directions, but I did not remove my current biological filtration which is 1.5 L of seachem matrix. My thought was allow the ammonia/nitrite converting bacteria to live in the seachem matrix filter and give the nitrate converting bacteria a place to grow and flourish in the med Aquaripure denitrator.

Here are the results directly from the effluent line of the Aquaripure:

3/17/11 nitrates 40 ppm same as tank.

3/22/11 after 3 days directions state to inject 8 ml of vodka, tested effluent on the 5 th day, nitrates 5 ppm.

I was really impressed, the inventor stated that it takes weeks, even months before a colony is able to reduce nitrates, but mine seemed to have formed in 5 days. The ultimate test will be water from the tank itself, to be fair I will wait 2 weeks to allow the system to really mature.

P.S. I have never seen a nitrate level of 5 ppm in my tank, best I got was 10 ppm after a 50% water change prior to getting the Aquaripure.

Tank 75 gal and 30 sump
Fish 10 black skirt tetras, 20 neon tetras, 50 black neon tetras
Test kit API

Last edited by Taekado; 03-22-2011 at 06:41 PM..
Taekado is offline  
Old 03-22-2011, 11:32 PM   #2
 
1077's Avatar
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taekado View Post
I purchased the med version denitrator, it came nicely wrapped and on time. On first inspection I felt the materials and overall build of the unit was top notch. I consider myself a pretty good DIY dude, but I couldn't have designed this unit for that price, even though I have a solid working knowledge of how it works.

I followed the directions, but I did not remove my current biological filtration which is 1.5 L of seachem matrix. My thought was allow the ammonia/nitrite converting bacteria to live in the seachem matrix filter and give the nitrate converting bacteria a place to grow and flourish in the med Aquaripure denitrator.

Here are the results directly from the effluent line of the Aquaripure:

3/17/11 nitrates 40 ppm same as tank.

3/22/11 after 3 days directions state to inject 8 ml of vodka, tested effluent on the 5 th day, nitrates 5 ppm.

I was really impressed, the inventor stated that it takes weeks, even months before a colony is able to reduce nitrates, but mine seemed to have formed in 5 days. The ultimate test will be water from the tank itself, to be fair I will wait 2 weeks to allow the system to really mature.

P.S. I have never seen a nitrate level of 5 ppm in my tank, best I got was 10 ppm after a 50% water change prior to getting the Aquaripure.

Tank 75 gal and 30 sump
Fish 10 black skirt tetras, 20 neon tetras, 50 black neon tetras
Test kit API

You can make one of these De-nitrators for near pennies, with some PVC material and some sand.
An even cheaper way to reduce nitrates is to perform a water change, or toss some floating plant's in the tank.
1077 is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 07:52 AM   #3
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1077 View Post
You can make one of these De-nitrators for near pennies, with some PVC material and some sand.
An even cheaper way to reduce nitrates is to perform a water change, or toss some floating plant's in the tank.
The first point you made is a subjective one, and does not mention the size or efficiency of the device. Reducing nitrates via plants did not work for me, I like stocking the tank heavy with fish. Water changes would probably work, but as I stated to get the nitrates to 10-20 ppm required me to do 50% water changes 2 to 3 times a month.

My real point in posting was just to show that the device works. Even though the device has not fully cycled, it is taking in 40 ppm of nitrates and spitting out 5 ppm.
Taekado is offline  
Old 03-23-2011, 08:43 AM   #4
 
1077's Avatar
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taekado View Post
The first point you made is a subjective one, and does not mention the size or efficiency of the device. Reducing nitrates via plants did not work for me, I like stocking the tank heavy with fish. Water changes would probably work, but as I stated to get the nitrates to 10-20 ppm required me to do 50% water changes 2 to 3 times a month.

My real point in posting was just to show that the device works. Even though the device has not fully cycled, it is taking in 40 ppm of nitrates and spitting out 5 ppm.
The size and effiicency of DIY device would largely depend on tank volume.
Could be anything from four inch ID PVC, to perhaps canister filter conversion for larger tanks.
Rather than coiled tubing,sand could be utilized.Water would come into the top of PVC, canister, via dosing pump (slow flow) where areobic bacteria thrive, and then pass slowly through the sand to the bottom anerobic area.Prefilter over return would prevent sand from entering the aquarium.

In any event,Most,,, perform weekly water changes on tanks overstocked or otherwise, to ensure the health of their fishes in the long term.(cheaper,faster at removing nitrAtes)
Overstocking,overfeeding,and or underfiltering, all are contributers to deteriorating water conditions and elevated ammonia,nitrites,and or organics (nitrates).
Is what a few of us here try to discourage.
1077 is offline  
Old 03-26-2011, 11:00 AM   #5
 
Effluent measure 0 ppm nitrates.
Posted via Mobile Device
Taekado is offline  
Old 03-30-2011, 07:18 PM   #6
 
Nitrate update. 3/30 nitrates 20 ppm. Down from 40 ppm with no water change in between readings. I am impressed!
Taekado is offline  
Old 04-06-2011, 03:10 PM   #7
 
Aquaripure's Avatar
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1077 View Post
You can make one of these De-nitrators for near pennies, with some PVC material and some sand.
An even cheaper way to reduce nitrates is to perform a water change, or toss some floating plant's in the tank.
1077, I am confused? You just said in the other post that there is no replacement for water changes and now you are encouraging people posting to the Aquaripure forum encouraging them to make some cheap, crappy and likely non-functioning version of a filter I have worked to perfect since 2003.

Please refrain from posting in my forum or I will get the owner of the forum involved. Please keep in mind that I am a paying sponsor to this website and this section of the forum is part of what I pay for. You can post whatever you'd like elsewhere on the forum.
Aquaripure is offline  
Old 04-06-2011, 04:47 PM   #8
 
Okay new readings, this time right from the tank (not effluent):
pH 7.6
Ammonia 0 ppm
Nitrites 0 ppm
Nitrates 5 ppm

Note: I did remove the seachem matrix, it was getting clogged up by residue from the effluent end. I assumed it was a harmless by produced of the anerobic bacteria. Even with the matrix removed, the denitrator was able to handle all of the biological filtration needs.

My fish and tank looks amazing! Will try to post pictures tonight. Great job Aquaripure!
Taekado is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Taekado For This Useful Post:
Aquaripure (04-06-2011)
Old 04-06-2011, 05:07 PM   #9
 
Aquaripure's Avatar
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taekado View Post
Okay new readings, this time right from the tank (not effluent):
pH 7.6
Ammonia 0 ppm
Nitrites 0 ppm
Nitrates 5 ppm

Note: I did remove the seachem matrix, it was getting clogged up by residue from the effluent end. I assumed it was a harmless by produced of the anerobic bacteria. Even with the matrix removed, the denitrator was able to handle all of the biological filtration needs.

My fish and tank looks amazing! Will try to post pictures tonight. Great job Aquaripure!
Thanks for the kudos!

I am going to start a thread and hopefully get some feedback on Aquaripure's new website. I would really appreciate it if you checked out the new website (www.aquaripure.com of course). Any feedback would be helpful including things such as loading times, bugs, overall appearance, etc.
Aquaripure is offline  
Old 04-06-2011, 05:12 PM   #10
 
Aquaripure's Avatar
 
New Aquaripure Website

Oops, I made this post by mistake and can't delete it.
Aquaripure is offline  
 


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.