AquariPure Purchase/Review - (In-depth/ My setup)
Tropical Fish

Tropical Fish Keeping - Aquarium fish care and resources » Aquarium Forum Sponsors » Aquaripure » AquariPure Purchase/Review - (In-depth/ My setup)

AquariPure Purchase/Review - (In-depth/ My setup)

This is a discussion on AquariPure Purchase/Review - (In-depth/ My setup) within the Aquaripure forums, part of the Aquarium Forum Sponsors category; --> Hello! (there will be a full review from start to finish, with levels) I just pulled the trigger and purchased an Aquaripure Small for ...

 
LinkBack Thread Tools vBmenu Seperating Image Search this Thread vBmenu Seperating Image
AquariPure Purchase/Review - (In-depth/ My setup)
Old 11-04-2010, 12:06 PM   #1
LIF
 
AquariPure Purchase/Review - (In-depth/ My setup)

Hello!
(there will be a full review from start to finish, with levels)

I just pulled the trigger and purchased an Aquaripure Small for my 40 gallon tank. I spoke to John today and placed my order over the phone with ease. John was very professional and I am happy with my order.

The Setup
I house a reef system with 12 fish, 1 seahorse, corals, Live rock . (I know Im crazy with 40 gallons and all that fish)

Anyway; as we are all busy in life; I have no time to do water changes as often as I would like to.

1. Im running a canister system (EHEIM 2232) with which contains:(from bottom tray to top)

a. Eheim Coarse Filter
b. Poly-Filter (cut to size)
c. SeaChem Purigen Pad
d. Seachem Renew
e. SeaChem PhosGuard


All in a 40 gallon tank with over 60 pounds of live rock.

(Im a canister guy; dont try to change me to a sump)

I do monthly changes of the chemical filtration from the canister system. I change salt water weekly (5 gallons) from LFS which sells it from their system pre salted.


Readings:

Phosphate: 0
Nitrites: 0
Nitrates: 80
Calcium: 480
High Range PH: 8.0

My PH always drops to 7.8 daily.

I use the following chemical products:

1. Aquavitro: Fuel (evey three days; a TSP)
2. Aquavitro: Calcification - Weekly (TSP)
3. Aquavitro: Vibrance - Monthly (10 drops)
4. Brightwell Aquatics - Magnesium (TSP bi-weekly)
5. Aquavitro Balance - Every other day (TSP)

Feeding: (daily)
New Life marine Fish 1mm (pinch)
Ocean Nutrition Spirulina Flake (pinch)
Frozen Brine: (BIO-Pure) - 1 cube (pre melt half before placing in tank)
Frozen Mysis Shrip (Hikari)- 1 cube (pre melt half before placing in tank)

Fish:
Marine Betta
Clown
2 Gobies
Blue Tang
Yellow Tang
3x Chromis
Firefish
Purple Firefish
Small Puffer (does not bother any corals/fish )
Sea Horse

(Ich breakouts clear-up with Ecological Lab Microbe-Lift Reef Herbtana (1 TSP for 10 days, IT WORKS)

Coral/Inverts:
Frogspawn
many mushrooms
Blue Spruce Caulastrea (7 heads)
Bubble anemane
Poly/Starburst
Orange Lobophyllia
Bubble Anemone

Cleaning Crew
4 Turbo Snails
20+ snails
4 - hermit crabs

Lighting
Current USA SunDial T5HO 30" 2-10k/2-460nm actinics (4 bulbs total) [w/ built-in timers]
Timer set:
460nm- 8 hours
10k - 5 hours
Photocell-controlled Lunar Lights (blue) set when T5's are not on (come on automatically)

Tank setup in 2009 - April


What I will be doing is calulating and reporting back here on a regular basis the status of my tank with the new addition of the Nitrate removal system I purchased. This will include delivery; ease of setup, instructions, test results daily.

11/4/10 - Ordered (not delivered yet)


Check back soon :)

Last edited by LIF; 11-04-2010 at 12:21 PM.. Reason: typo
LIF is offline  
Old 11-04-2010, 12:20 PM   #2
LIF
 
(once review of product is completed; maybe mods can move to SaltWater Area.)

However; I want to do a complete review of the system I purchased.
LIF is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 10:29 PM   #3
LIF
 
Unit arrived wonderfully packed.
I have since opened and installed the unit at 1 drop setting w/ no vodka yet.

Couple of challenges:
1. The output from the powerhead doesnt come with a L adapter to easily hide the black hose in the tank.
2. The value if you bend slightly leaks at both points.
3. Where the EZ Tube goes into the canister is black silicone which if you touch wiggles at the point that it seems like its not 'water tight'.

Other than this; the unit is professional constructed.

Check back soon with water settings and pics of unit, install, and challenge pics noted above.
LIF is offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 01:52 AM   #4
 
1077's Avatar
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIF View Post
Hello!
(there will be a full review from start to finish, with levels)

I just pulled the trigger and purchased an Aquaripure Small for my 40 gallon tank. I spoke to John today and placed my order over the phone with ease. John was very professional and I am happy with my order.

The Setup
I house a reef system with 12 fish, 1 seahorse, corals, Live rock . (I know Im crazy with 40 gallons and all that fish)

Anyway; as we are all busy in life; I have no time to do water changes as often as I would like to.

1. Im running a canister system (EHEIM 2232) with which contains:(from bottom tray to top)

a. Eheim Coarse Filter
b. Poly-Filter (cut to size)
c. SeaChem Purigen Pad
d. Seachem Renew
e. SeaChem PhosGuard


All in a 40 gallon tank with over 60 pounds of live rock.

(Im a canister guy; dont try to change me to a sump)

I do monthly changes of the chemical filtration from the canister system. I change salt water weekly (5 gallons) from LFS which sells it from their system pre salted.


Readings:

Phosphate: 0
Nitrites: 0
Nitrates: 80
Calcium: 480
High Range PH: 8.0

My PH always drops to 7.8 daily.

I use the following chemical products:

1. Aquavitro: Fuel (evey three days; a TSP)
2. Aquavitro: Calcification - Weekly (TSP)
3. Aquavitro: Vibrance - Monthly (10 drops)
4. Brightwell Aquatics - Magnesium (TSP bi-weekly)
5. Aquavitro Balance - Every other day (TSP)

Feeding: (daily)
New Life marine Fish 1mm (pinch)
Ocean Nutrition Spirulina Flake (pinch)
Frozen Brine: (BIO-Pure) - 1 cube (pre melt half before placing in tank)
Frozen Mysis Shrip (Hikari)- 1 cube (pre melt half before placing in tank)

Fish:
Marine Betta
Clown
2 Gobies
Blue Tang
Yellow Tang
3x Chromis
Firefish
Purple Firefish
Small Puffer (does not bother any corals/fish )
Sea Horse

(Ich breakouts clear-up with Ecological Lab Microbe-Lift Reef Herbtana (1 TSP for 10 days, IT WORKS)

Coral/Inverts:
Frogspawn
many mushrooms
Blue Spruce Caulastrea (7 heads)
Bubble anemane
Poly/Starburst
Orange Lobophyllia
Bubble Anemone

Cleaning Crew
4 Turbo Snails
20+ snails
4 - hermit crabs

Lighting
Current USA SunDial T5HO 30" 2-10k/2-460nm actinics (4 bulbs total) [w/ built-in timers]
Timer set:
460nm- 8 hours
10k - 5 hours
Photocell-controlled Lunar Lights (blue) set when T5's are not on (come on automatically)

Tank setup in 2009 - April


What I will be doing is calulating and reporting back here on a regular basis the status of my tank with the new addition of the Nitrate removal system I purchased. This will include delivery; ease of setup, instructions, test results daily.

11/4/10 - Ordered (not delivered yet)


Check back soon :)
Am not at all familiar with Salt water set up's but would be curious as to what the NitrAte levels are in the water from the LFS system you are using. Not sure If using water from another system is the norm but would not be something I would accept were it me.
If you can change five gallons per week, surely you could manage a few more gallons while performing the change each week.
1077 is offline  
 

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank size, sand depth and questions carpet1 Beginner Saltwater Aquariums 7 10-03-2009 03:02 PM
Increasing sand bed depth? Shadowcat0789 Coral and Reef Creatures 4 06-22-2009 04:33 PM
Review my setup? Zule Freshwater and Tropical Fish 8 01-25-2008 05:12 PM
Tank setup review... Discofruit Beginner Freshwater Aquarium 5 08-06-2007 12:01 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.